
REGISTERED DENTAL ASSISTANT (RDA) EXAMINATION INSTRUCTIONS  –   
QUALIFICATION  THROUGH GRADUATION FROM BOARD-APPROVED RDA PROGRAMS  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Completed applications containing all required documents and fees  must be  received with a written  
explanation for all affirmative answers.  Failure to do so will result in this application being deemed  
incomplete.  

Applicants for Registered  Dental Assistant licensure in  California must pass the RDA  General and Law  
and Ethics  written exam, and undergo a criminal history investigation prior to receiving a license.   
Temporary permits are not issued and licensure in another state  or country is not recognized.   

GENERAL ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS B&P  Code Section 1752.1   
To qualify for examination  and licensure  on  or after January 1, 2010,  you  must  either:  

A)  Be a graduate  of a Board-approved Registered Dental Assisting  program;   OR   

B)  Complete 15-months  and 1280 hours of  satisfactory work experience  as  a dental assistant for a 
dentist licensed in the United States  by the  date of application.  

Applicants who have graduated from a dental assisting program in a postsecondary institution approved  
by the  Department  of Education  or in a secondary institution, regional  occupational center, or regional 
occupational program that  is  not approved by  the board, shall be granted credit toward  the  15-months  
work experience requirement. The  credit  shall equal the total weeks spent in classroom training and  
internship on a week-for-week basis. Verification  of hours completed and used toward  the  15-month  
work experience requirement must be demonstrated  and certified  on  the “Certification of Non-
Approved  Dental Assisting  Program” form completed  by the  educational facility.  

NOTE:  All applicants are  required to provide evidence  of having completed an 8-hour Board-approved  
course in Infection Control  and a 2-hour Board-approved course in the  Dental  Practice Act. Certificates  
must be dated within five years from the date your application is received by the  Board. You are also  
required to submit evidence of completing a course in basic life support (BLS) offered by the American 
Red Cross or the American Heart Association. This  evidence is  required to be a copy of the front and back  
of the card that is issued to you from the course provider  

Make checks payable to the Dental Board of  California.  Mail applications  with payment  to:  
Dental Board of California  
2005  Evergreen Street, Suite 1550  
Sacramento, California  95815  

FIRST-TIME APPLICANTS  

First-time applicants  must send the completed Application for RDA Examination and Licensure to the  
address above,  INCLUDING the fee of $120.00.  You will pay an additional fee of $38.50  for the RDA  



 

 

 

 

 

 

General and Law and Ethics  written  examination when scheduling your test  with Psychological Services  
Inc.  (PSI), the contracted testing agency handling the examinations for the Board. Once you have been  
approved  to  sit for the practical examination, a Candidate Handbook will be  mailed to  you by  PSI with  
information regarding how to pay for and  when to schedule your written examinations.    

If you want verification that your application documents have arrived  at the Board  offices,  you must  
include a self-addressed and stamped  postcard  or send your application with  a delivery confirmation.  
Address the post card to yourself, place postage on the card and return with  your completed application.   
The card will be used to notify you that the Board has  received your application for the  Registered  Dental  
Assistant examination and  it is in the process  of being  evaluated.   When  you receive the card back in the  
mail, it  only  means that  we  have received your application, not that you have been accepted  or scheduled  
for an examination.  

FINGERPRINTS, LOCATIONS AND FEES  

You  are required to submit fingerprints  upon initial application.    Live Scan  is  available only in California,  
for either r esidents  or visitors,  is more efficient than  the  Ink-on-Cards  method, and is  required for all  
California applicants. The  Live Scan form is attached  to  this application  or can be downloaded from the  
Dental Board website at  www.dbc.ca.gov.   Make sure you print  or copy the form in triplicate  (three  
copies).   

The agency data for the Dental Board has been completed on the form for  you.  Applicants need to provide  
personal data on the form and contact the  Live Scan location in your area (see authorized Live Scan  
locations on the website at  http://www.caag.state.ca.us/fingerprints/publications/contact.htm).  At your  
fingerprinting appointment, present  three (3) copies  of  the form to the Live Scan  vendor.  Upon  
completion of the  fingerprinting process, the vendor site will  retain one  copy  and  you will  receive one  
copy to submit to the Dental  Board as part of this  application filing process.   The remaining copy should  
be retained by  you  for your records.    

Your fingerprints  will be scanned electronically, without ink, and transmitted  to the California Department  
of Justice (DOJ) and the Federal Bureau  of Investigation (FBI) for processing.  The DOJ will send their report  
to the Dental Board.  Usually the report is received  within seven days.   There is  a low rate  of rejections  
with the Live Scan method.   

The Live Scan  service location will require you to pay a fee.  Fees  vary depending on location and are  
posted  on the  vendor location  website indicated above.  California applicants using Live Scan are not  
required to submit the $49  fingerprint card fee to the  Dental Board as part  of this application.   Your Live  
Scan fees  will be paid separately to  the vendor  location at the time  of service.   

Out-of-State applicants using the Ink-on-Cards  method of fingerprinting  will be required to submit a $49  
finger card fee to the Board upon submission  of this application.  Further instructions regarding ink  
fingerprinting for Out-of-State applicants can be found on page  7.  

http://www.caag.state.ca.us/fingerprints/publications/contact.htm
http://www.dbc.ca.gov.


FIRST-TIME APPLICANT  CHECKLIST  

Based on  the  graduation  date of your  California Board-approved RDA  program, be  sure  to complete or  
provide evidence  of having completed the following:  

Education Pathway  –  Board-approved program  
completion on or after  7/1/2009  

Education Pathway  –  Board-approved program  
completion prior to  7/1/2009  

Completion of the RDA Examination Application,  
signed and dated  

Completion of the RDA Examination Application,  
signed and dated  

Attach copy of the school diploma or certificate of  
program completion  or  have your school certify 
graduation will occur within 30 days of examination.  

Attach copy of the school diploma or certificate of  
program completion.    

Attach copy of current  Basic Life Support  – 
CPR  (AHA/ARC) 

Attach copies of certificates of course completion in  
the following areas:  

• Infection Control (8-hours) 
• California Dental Practice Act  (2-hours) 
• Basic Life Support  –  CPR (AHA/ARC) 
• Optional:  Pit & Fissure  Sealants (must be 

completed by first renewal requiring continuing 
education) 

EXPLANATION  OF DOCUMENTS FOR  APPLICATION  WHEN  QUALIFYING  BY  GRADUATION FROM  A  
BOARD-APPROVED RDA  PROGRAM  

In April 2009, all Board-approved RDA dental assisting programs  were required  to verify by affidavit the  
statutory requirement to be inclusive of all curricula dictated by law, including the application  of pit and  
fissure sealants,  coronal polishing, radiation safety, infection control, and California Dental Practice Act  
(CDPA).  Certificates of program completion dated  on or after 7/1/2009 are, therefore, considered all-
inclusive of  the educational requirements and do not require the applicant who graduated after 7/1/2009  
to have  to submit separate certificates for each  area of certification.    

For candidates graduating  prior to July 1, 2009, the content  of the program is not considered all-inclusive  
and, therefore, separate documents  or  certificates in the identified areas except radiation safety and  
coronal polishing (considered inclusive of all RDA programs since July 1,  2002) is required.  

For those graduating prior to July  1, 2009 but did not test and  obtain licensure until after January  1, 2010,  
evidence  of pit and fissure  sealant  certification  may either be submitted at the time of application  or at  
the first renewal requiring  continuing education  of the RDA license.    

Per B&P Code  Section 1752.6:  A  registered dental assistant licensed on and after  January 1, 2010, shall  
provide evidence of successful completion of a board-approved course in the application of pit and fissure  



sealants prior  to the first  expiration of his or her license that requires the completion of continuing 
education as a condition of renewal. The license of a registered dental assistant who does not provide  
evidence of successful completion of that course shall  not be renewed until  evidence of course completion  
is provided.    

OUT-OF-STATE APPLICANTS  

Applicants  located outside  of California must submit  two completed fingerprint cards  supplied by the  
Board  at the time of application and an additional fee of $49  for processing  of the fingerprint cards (a 
total fee of $169). You will pay an additional fee of $38.50  for the  RDA  General and Law and Ethics  written  
examination  when you schedule your test  with Psychological Services Inc.  (PSI).  Once you have been  
accepted  for examination, a Candidate  Handbook will be mailed to  you  by PSI with  information  regarding  
how  to pay for and  when to schedule your  written examinations.   

OUT-OF-STATE APPLICANT  CHECKLIST  

Applicants graduating from a qualified program  outside California must show  evidence  of having  
successfully completed  the following California Dental Board-approved courses in  the following subject  
areas at the  time  of application:  

• Infection Control  (8-hours) 
• California Dental Practice  Act  (2-hours) 
• Basic Life Support  – CPR  - American  Heart  Association (AHA)/American Red Cross (ARC) 
• Radiation Safety Certificate (32-hours) 
• Coronal Polishing Certificate (12-hours) 

PREVIOUSLY-QUALIFIED APPLICANTS/ RE-EXAMINATION  

If,  within the last two  years, you qualified for and took the  written,  Law  and Ethics, or the  RDA  General  
and Law and Ethics  written  exam and failed,  you  must  submit a completed Application for Re-Examination  
for the  RDA  General  and Law  and Ethics  written  examination.  Do not use this  application form for re-
examination.    

If it has been more  than two years since you last took  an  exam,  you must  re-apply for the exams as a 
first-time a pplicant, even if  you  passed one  of the exams  in the past.   Passing  scores are  only  valid for two  
years from your las t  exam.   

COMPLETING  THE APPLICATION  

Many applications are rejected because they are incomplete  or completed incorrectly  - read all of the  
materials  sent  to you  and complete  ALL  parts of the  application  fully, truthfully, and  accurately.   You must  
provide all of the information requested.  Be  sure to  clearly print  or type all data.   



If you have not graduated  by the final filing date, the  school may certify  on the application that  you  will  
complete by  a specified date.    

However,  it  is  your  responsibility  to  make s ure t hat  the  school  certifies, that  you did in fact successfully  
complete program.  If the  Board  does  not receive  proof of actual completion  and  graduation by  this  date,  
you will not  be allowed to take the exams and you will have to re-apply as a first-time applicant during a  
later exam cycle. All certifications  must  contain  original signatures and be submitted with  your application.  

Before submission  of your application packet, check the following:  
 Are checks for all the required fees included in your application packet? 
 Has the school information been completed  and  verified by  your Program  Director or school 

administrator on  the “Certification of Board-Approved  Dental  Assisting Program” form? 
 Have  you  completely answered all questions and signed the application  on  Page  3? 
 Did you clearly print  or type in all the required areas  of the  application?  Check  for any  missed 

areas. 
 Have  you included  all the required certifications?  Go  through the checklist to  make sure  you have 

submitted all the certificates required for this application pathway. 
 Have you self-addressed  and stamped  the application postcard and included it with your 

application package? 
 Have you  completed  the Live Scan fingerprinting form, contacted  the vendor and completed the 

fingerprinting process  prior to submission  of this application? 

WHAT HAPPENS AFTER APPLICATION?  

If you are  not qualified, you will be mailed a deficiency letter. If you have not been notified after  4  –  6 
weeks from the filing of your application,  you should  contact the Board offices.  

If you are  qualified, you will be sent notification and a Candidate Handbook from  PSI advising you of how  
to apply for and schedule  your written examination.  Your Candidate Handbook will provide  more detailed  
information about the content of the exam, important information  about the examination process,  
suggestions for  the examination day and  other important testing information.   

Approximately 30 days  after you submitted your application,  you will be sent a letter informing you  
of your application status.  

SPECIAL ACCOMMODATIONS  

If you have a disability and  require special accommodations,  call the Board to request a special 
accommodations packet.   Completed special accommodation packets  MUST be submitted  WITH  your  
application.  It is  not  possible to  make special arrangements for certain applicants to be scheduled  
together.   



GENERAL NATURE OF THE EXAMINATIONS  

The  RDA General and Law and Ethics  written  exam  is a three-hour, computer based, 150-question  
multiple-choice exam.  It is  administered in a computerized test center at various  sites in California. If  you  
qualify  and  your application  is  accepted, y ou  will be  sent  information  about  how to  register for this  exam.  

Once your application has  been accepted, you will be sent specific  information concerning  the content  
of the examination.   Be  sure to read it carefully.   

REFUND OF FEES   

Fees are non-refundable.   If your application is rejected for any reason, the application fee  cannot be  
refunded.  

RETURNED CHECK  FEE  

A $25 fee  will be  charged for all returned checks.  

ALLOWABLE DA AND  RDA  DUTIES  

It is a criminal offense  to practice as a registered dental assisting (RDA) without first receiving a license.  
Therefore, be sure to become familiar with the duties that the unlicensed dental assistant and the  
Registered Dental Assistant is allowed  to perform in  California, as contained in  the following laws and  
regulations.   

AUTHORIZED DUTIES  - DENTAL ASSISTANT  
(Business & Professions  Code  §1750)  

A dental assistant is an individual who, without a license,  may perform basic supportive dental procedures,  
as authorized by law and by regulations adopted by the Dental Board, under the supervision of a licensed  
dentist.  "Basic supportive dental procedures" are those procedures that have technically elementary  
characteristics,  are completely  reversible,  and are unlikely  to  precipitate potentially hazardous  conditions  
for the patient being treated.  

GENERAL SUPERVISION  DUTIES (DA)  
(Business & Professions  Code  §1750.1(a))  

A dental assistant  may perform the following duties under the general supervision of a supervising  
licensed dentist:  
1. Extra-oral duties  or procedures specified by the supervising licensed dentist  provided that these 

duties or procedures  meet  the definition of a basic supportive procedure. 



2. Operate dental radiography  equipment for the purpose  of oral radiography if the  dental assistant has 
completed an approved radiation safety course  or passed a radiation  safety exam. 

3. Perform intraoral and extraoral photography. 

DIRECT SUPERVISION DUTIES (DA)  
(Business & Professions  Code  §1750.1(b))  

A  dental assistant  may perform  the  following duties under the  direct  supervision  of a supervising  licensed  
dentist:  
1. Apply nonaerosol and noncaustic topical agents. 
2. Apply topical fluoride.1 

3. Take intraoral impressions  for all non-prosthodontic appliances. 
4. Take facebow  transfers and bite registrations. 
5. Place and remove rubber dams  or other isolation devices. 
6. Place, wedge, and  remove matrices for restorative procedures. 
7. Remove post-extraction dressings  after inspection  of  the surgical site by the supervising  licensed 

dentist. 
8. Perform  measurements for the purposes  of  orthodontic treatment. 
9. Cure restorative or orthodontic  materials in  operative site  with a light-curing device. 
10. Examine orthodontic appliances. 
11. Place and remove orthodontic separators. 
12. Remove ligature ties and archwires. 
13. After adjustment by the dentist, examine and seat removable  orthodontic appliances and deliver care 

instructions to the patient. 
14. Remove periodontal dressings. 
15. Remove sutures after inspection  of  the site by the dentist. 
16. Place patient monitoring sensors. 
17. Monitor patient sedation, limited  to reading and transmitting information from  the monitor display 

during the intraoperative phase  of surgery for electrocardiogram  waveform, carbon dioxide and  end 
tidal carbon dioxide concentrations, respiratory cycle data, continuous noninvasive blood pressure 
data, or  pulse  arterial  oxygen  saturation measurements, f or the  purpose  of interpretation  and 
evaluation b y  a  supervising licensed  dentist  who  shall  be at  the patient's  chairside during this 
procedure. 

18. Assist in the  administration of nitrous oxide  when used for analgesia or sedation. A dental assistant 
shall not start the  administration  of the gases  and shall not adjust  the flow  of the gases unless 

1  Effective January 10, 2010,  when operating in a school-based setting or a public health program created or  
administered by a federal, state, county, or local governmental entity pursuant to Sections 104762 and 104830 of  
the Health and Safety Code, a dental assistant may apply topical fluoride under the general direction of a licensed 
dentist or physician (B&P Code, §1750.1(c)).  



instructed  to do so by  the supervising licensed dentist  who shall be present  at  the patient's chairside  
during the implementation of  these instructions.  

AUTHORIZED DUTIES  - REGISTERED DENTAL ASSISTANT  
(Business & Professions  Code  §1752.4)  

A registered dental assistant may perform all of the following duties:2  
1. All duties that a dental assistant is allowed to perform. 
2. Mouth-mirror inspections of the oral cavity,  to include  charting  of obvious  lesions, existing 

restorations, and  missing teeth. 
3. Apply and activate bleaching agents using a nonlaser light-curing device. 
4. Use of automated caries detection devices and materials to gather information  for diagnosis by the 

dentist. 
5. Obtain intraoral images for computer-aided design (CAD),  milled restorations. 
6. Pulp vitality  testing and recording of findings. 
7. Place bases, liners, and bonding agents. 
8. Chemically prepare teeth for bonding (for restorative only). 
9. Place, adjust, and finish direct provisional restorations. 
10. Fabricate, adjust, cement, and remove indirect provisional restorations, including stainless steel 

crowns when used as  a provisional restoration. 
11. Place post-extraction dressings after inspection  of the surgical site by the supervising licensed dentist. 
12. Place periodontal dressings. 
13. Dry  endodontically treated  canals using absorbent paper points. 
14. Adjust dentures extra-orally. 
15. Remove excess cement from surfaces  of teeth with  a  hand instrument. 
16. Polish coronal surfaces of the  teeth. 
17. Place ligature  ties and archwires. 
18. Remove orthodontic  bands. 
19. All duties that the board  may prescribe by regulation. 

A registered dental assistant  may only perform the following additional duties if he  or she has completed  
a board-approved educational  program in those duties:  
1. Remove excess cement  with an ultrasonic scaler from supragingival surfaces of teeth undergoing 

orthodontic treatment. 
2. The  allowable  duties  of an  orthodontic assistant permit-holder. A  registered  dental assistant  shall not 

be  required to complete  further instruction in the  duties of placing ligature  ties and archwires, 
removing orthodontic bands, and removing excess cement from  tooth surfaces  with a hand 
instrument. 

3. The allowable duties  of a dental sedation assistant permit-holder. 
4. The application  of pit and fissure sealants. 

2   Except  as provided in Business and Professions  Code section 1777, the supervising dentist determines whether  
each procedure is performed under general or direct supervision.  
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