State of California Office of Administrative Law

In re:

Dental Board of California

Regulatory Action:

Title 16, California Code of Regulations

Adopt sections:

Amend sections: 1023.2, 1023.3

Repeal sections:

NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF REGULATORY **ACTION**

Government Code Section 11349.3

OAL Matter Number: 2020-0904-02

OAL Matter Type: Regular (S)

This action raises the maximum penalty amount to \$5,000 for Class A and Class B violations of statutes and regulations relating to the practice of dentistry and for the unlicensed practice of an activity requiring licensure by the Dental Board of California.

OAL approves this regulatory action pursuant to section 11349.3 of the Government Code. This regulatory action becomes effective on 2/10/2021.

Date:

February 10, 2021

Dale P. Mentink

Senior Attorney

For:

Kenneth J. Pogue

Director

Original: Karen Fisher, Executive Officer

Copy:

Gabriel Nevin



300 Capitol Mall, Suite 1250, Sacramento, CA 95814 Phone: (916) 323-6225 | Fax: (916) 323-6826



TO: Gabriel Nevin

FROM: Office of Administrative Law Front Desk

DATE: February 10, 2021

RE: Return of Rulemaking File

OAL Matter Number 2020-0904-02S

OAL Matter Type Regular

The Office of Administrative Law (OAL) hereby returns the above-referenced rulemaking file, which was submitted to us for review. If the matter has been approved or authorized for filing and printing by OAL, attached is a copy of the Secretary of State (SOS) endorsed regulations, which are effective as indicated on the Form 400, and a Notice of Approval.

<u>DO NOT DISCARD OR DESTROY THIS FILE 1</u> Due to the legal significance of the rulemaking, you are required by law to preserve this rulemaking file.² The law requires that no item be removed, altered, destroyed or otherwise disposed of in the file and that you make it available to the public and courts for potential future review. (Gov. Code, § 11347.3(d)-(e); See also Gov. Code, §§ 14740 et seq.; State Admin. Manual (SAM), §§ 1600 et seq. (regarding other recordkeeping requirements).) You may transmit the rulemaking record to the State Archives for storage with instructions that the SOS shall not remove, alter, or destroy or otherwise dispose of any item contained in the file. (Gov. Code, § 11347.3(f).)

If your agency submitted the rulemaking file electronically, please promptly confirm receipt of the Closed and Complete Rulemaking File. Please note that all copies of the rulemaking file will be deleted from OAL records. If there is anything missing, please contact us immediately.

Web posting requirements:

Within 15 days of the SOS's endorsement of the regulations, you must post the regulations on your website for at least six months in an easily marked and identifiable location, including the date filed with the SOS and the effective date of the regulations, which are shown on the Form 400. (Gov. Code, § 11340.85(c)(7)-(8).) Also, within five days of posting the regulations online, you must send OAL the link to OAL. (Gov. Code, § 11343(c).) Please send the link to OAL at postedregslink@oal.ca.gov.

If you have any questions, please contact us at staff@oal.ca.gov.

¹ This does not apply to withdrawn or disapproved files, but you may wish to retain a withdrawn/disapproved file for resubmission.

² Unless exempt from the APA. Exempt files are not required by law to be kept, but retention may be beneficial for other reasons.

STATE OF CALIFORNIA--OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE LAW NOTICE PUBLICATION/REGUL For use by Secretary of State only e instructions on reverse) OAL FILE NOTICE FILE NUMBER WAZRYOCTION DISPRO 4 - 0 2 SMERGENCY NUMBER **NUMBERS** ENDORSED - FILED For use by Office of Administrative Law (OAL) only in the office of the Secretary of State of the State of California FEB 10 2021 7070 SEP - 4 A 10: 29 1,22 P.M. OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE LAW NOTICE REGULATIONS AGENCY WITH RULEMAKING AUTHORITY AGENCY FILE NUMBER (If any) Dental Board of California A. PUBLICATION OF NOTICE (Complete for publication in Notice Register) 1. SUBJECT OF NOTICE TITLE(S) FIRST SECTION AFFECTED 2. REQUESTED PUBLICATION DATE 3. NOTICE TYPE
Notice re Proposed 4. AGENCY CONTACT PERSON TELEPHONE NUMBER FAX NUMBER (Optional) Other Regulatory Action ACTION ON PROPOSED NOTICE OAL USE NOTICE REGISTER NUMBER PUBLICATION DATE Approved as Approved as Modified ONLY Disapproved/ Submitted B. SUBMISSION OF REGULATIONS (Complete when submitting regulations) 1a. SUBJECT OF REGULATION(S) 1b. ALL PREVIOUS RELATED OAL REGULATORY ACTION NUMBER(S) Citation & Fine 2. SPECIFY CALIFORNIA CODE OF REGULATIONS TITLE(S) AND SECTION(S) (Including title 26, if toxics related) ADOP SECTION(S) AFFECTED (List all section number(s) AMEND individually. Attach additional sheet if needed.) 1023.2 & 1023.7 TITLE(S) REPEAL 16 3. TYPE OF FILING Regular Rulemaking (Gov. Certificate of Compliance: The agency officer named Code §11346) Emergency Readopt (Gov. below certifies that this agency complied with the Changes Without Regulatory Resubmittal of disapproved or Code, §11346.1(h)) provisions of Gov. Code §§11346.2-11347.3 either Effect (Cal. Code Regs., title withdrawn nonemergency before the emergency regulation was adopted or 1, §100) filing (Gov. Code §§11349.3, File & Print within the time period required by statute Print Only 11349.4) Emergency (Gov. Code, Resubmittal of disapproved or withdrawn Other (Specify) §11346.1(b)) emergency filing (Gov. Code, §11346.1) 4. ALL BEGINNING AND ENDING DATES OF AVAILABILITY OF MODIFIED REGULATIONS AND/OR MATERIAL ADDED TO THE RULEMAKING FILE (Cal. Code Regs. title 1, \$44 and Gov. Code §11347.1) 5. EFFECTIVE DATE OF CHANGES (Gov. Code, 55 11343.4, 11346.1(d); Cal. Code Regs., title 1, 5100) Effective January 1, April 1, July 1, or Effective on filing with §100 Changes Without October 1 (Gov. Code §11343.4(a)) Effective Secretary of State Regulatory Effect 6. CHECK IF THESE REGULATIONS REQUIRE NOTICE TO, OR REVIEW, CONSULTATION, APPROVAL OR CONCURRENCE BY, ANOTHER AGENCY OR ENTITY other (Specify) Department of Finance (Form STD, 399) (SAM §6660) Fair Political Practices Commission per agency State Fire Marshal Kimberly Kirchmeyer, Director, Department of Consumer Affairs Other (Specify) 7. CONTACT PERSON TELEPHONE NUMBER FAX NUMBER (Optional) Gabriel Nevin E-MAIL ADDRESS (Optional) 916-263-2027 916-263-2140 gabriel nevin@dca.ca.gov I certify that the attached copy of the regulation(s) is a true and correct copy For use by Office of Administrative Law (OAL) only of the regulation(s) identified on this form, that the information specified on this form ENDORSED APPROVED is true and correct, and that I am the head of the agency taking this action, or a designee of the head of the agency, and am authorized to make this certification. WATURE OF ACENCY, HEAD OR DESIGNEE FFR 10 2021 Karen Fischer (Aug 27, 2020 11:18 PDT) Aug 27, 2020 TYPED NAME AND TITLE OF SIGNATORY Office of Administrative Law Karen M. Fischer, Executive Officer

Dental Board of California Citations and Fines Order of Adoption

Amend Sections 1023.2 and 1023.7 of Division 10 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations to read as follows:

§ 1023.2. Administrative Fines for Citation.

Where citations issued pursuant to Section 125.9 of the code include an assessment of an administrative fine, they shall be classified according to the nature of the violation and shall indicate the classification on the face thereof as follows:

- (a) A class "A" violation is a violation which the executive officer has determined involves a person who has violated a statute/regulation, and either:
 - (1) the violation presents a substantial probability that death or serious physical harm to a patient could result therefrom; or
 - (2) the person has been issued three class B violations within a 24-month time period immediately preceding the act, serving as the basis for the citation, without regard to whether the actions to enforce the previous citations have become final. A class "A" violation is subject to an administrative fine in an amount not less than \$1,000 and not exceeding \$2,500 \$5,000 for each violation.
- (b) A class "B" violation is a violation which the executive officer has determined involves a person who has violated a statute/regulation relating to the practice of dentistry which does not present a substantial probability that either death or serious physical harm to a patient will result therefrom. A class "B" violation is subject to an administrative fine in an amount not less than \$50 and not exceeding \$2,500 \$5,000 for each violation.

Note: Authority cited: Sections 125.9 and 1614, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Section 125.9, Business and Professions Code.

§ 1023.7. Unlicensed Practice.

The executive officer may issue a citation, in accordance with Section 148 of the code, against any unlicensed person who is acting in the capacity of a licensee under the jurisdiction of the board and who is not otherwise exempt from licensure. Each citation may contain an assessment of an administrative fine, or an order of abatement fixing a reasonable period of time for an abatement. Administrative fines shall range from \$50 to \$2,500 \$5,000 for each violation. Any sanction authorized for activity under this section shall be separate from and in addition to any other civil or criminal remedies.

Note: Authority cited: Sections 148 and 1614, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Section 148, Business and Professions Code.