TITLE 16. DENTAL BOARD OF CALIFORNIA
DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS

MODIFIED TEXT

The modified text shows changes made to the originally proposed language using
double underline for new text and double strikeout for deleted text.

Adopt Article 4.6 in Chapter 1 of Division 10 of Title 16 of the California Code of
Regulations to read:

ARTICLE 4.6
Unprofessional Conduct

8§ 1018.05 Unprofessional Conduct Defined.
In addition to those acts detailed in Business and Professions Code Sections 1680,
1681 and 1682, the following shall also constitute unprofessional conduct:

(a)_Failure to provide records requested by the bBoard within 15 days of the date of
receipt of the request or within the time specified in the request, whichever is later,
unless the licensee is unable to provide the documents within this time period for good
cause. For the purposes of this section, “good cause” includes physical inability to
access the records in the time allowed due to illness or travel.

(b) Failure to report to the bBoard, within 30 days, any of the following:

(1) The bringing of an indictment or information charging a felony against the
licensee.

(2) The conviction of the licensee, including any verdict of quilty, or pleas of
quilty or no contest, of any felony or misdemeanor.

(3) Any disciplinary action taken by another professional licensing entity or
authority of this state or of another state or an agency of the federal government
or the United States military.

(4) For the purposes of this section, “conviction” means a plea or verdict of quilty
or a conviction following a plea of nolo contendere or “no contest” and any
conviction that has been set aside or deferred pursuant to

Sections 1000 or 1203.4 of the Penal Code, including infractions, misdemeanors,
and felonies. “Conviction” does not include traffic infractions with a fine of less

Proposed Modified Text Page 1 of 4



than one thousand dollars ($1,000) unless the infraction involved alcohol or
controlled substances.

Note: Authority cited: 1614, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 1670,
1670.1, and 1680, 1684.1 Business and Professions Code.

Amend Section 1020 of Division 10 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations to
read:

8§ 1020. Application Review and Criteria for Evaluating Rehabilitation.

(2)(1) In addition to any other requirements for licensure, when considering the
approval of an application, the Board or its designee may require an applicant to
be examined by one or more physicians and surgeons or psychologists
designated by the bBoard if it appears that the applicant may be unable to safely
practice due to mental illness or physical illness affecting competency. An
applicant’s failure to comply with the examination requirement shall render his or
her application incomplete. The report of the examiners shall be made available
to the applicant. The bBoard shall pay the full cost of such examination. If after
receiving the report of evaluation, the bBoard determines that the applicant is
unable to safely practice, the sBoard may deny the application, or may issue the

applicant a license that is placed on probation with terms and conditions. If the
Board issues a license on probation, the probationary order shall include an
order that the license be revoked, stayed and placed on probation for the entire
term of probation. In issuing a license on probation, the Board may consider any
or all of the following terms and conditions:
(i) Requiring the licensee to obtain additional training or pass an
examination upon completion of training, or both. The examination may
be written, oral, or both, and may be a practical or clinical examination or
both, at the option of the Board;
(i) Requiring the licensee to submit to a mental or physical examination,
or psychotherapy during the term of probation under the terms and
conditions provided for in the “Dental Board of California Disciplinary
Guidelines With Model Language” revised 08/30/2010, incorporated by
reference at Section 1018; or

(iii) Restricting or limiting the extent, scope or type of practice of the

licensee.

2) If the Board determines, pursuant to proceedings conducted under this
subdivision, that there is insufficient evidence to bring an action against the
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applicant, then all Board records of the proceedings, including the order for the
examination, investigative reports, if any, and the report of the physicians and
surgeons or psychologists, shall be kept confidential. If no further proceedings
are conducted to determine the applicant’s fitness to practice during a period of
five years from the date of the determination by the Board of the proceeding
pursuant to this subdivision, then the Board shall purge and destroy all records
pertaining to the proceedings. If new proceedings are instituted during the five-
year period against the applicant by the Board, the records, including the report
of the physicians and surgeons or psychologists, may be used in the proceedings

and shall be available to the Respondent pursuant to the provisions of Section
11507.6 of the Government Code.

&)(b) When considering the denial of a license under Section 480 of the Code, the
bBoard in evaluating the rehabilitation of the applicant and his present eligibility for a
license, will consider the following criteria:

(1) The nature and severity of the act(s) or crime(s) under consideration as
grounds for denial.

(2) Evidence of any act(s) committed subsequent to the act(s) or crime(s) under
consideration as grounds for denial which also could be considered as grounds

for denial under Section 480 of the Code.

(3) The time that has elapsed since commission of the act(s) or crime(s) referred
to in subdivision (1) or (2).

(4) The extent to which the applicant has complied with any terms of parole,
probation, restitution, or any other sanctions lawfully imposed against the
applicant.
(5) Evidence, if any, of rehabilitation submitted by the applicant.
b)(c) When considering the suspension or revocation of a license on the grounds of
conviction of a crime, the bBoard, in evaluating the rehabilitation of such person and his
present eligibility for a license will consider the following criteria:

(1) The nature and severity of the act(s) or offense(s);

(2) Total criminal record,;

Proposed Modified Text Page 3 of 4



(3) The time that has elapsed since commission of the act(s) or offense(s);

(4) Whether the licensee has complied with any terms of parole, probation,
restitution or any other sanctions lawfully imposed against the licensee;

(5) If applicable, evidence of expungement proceedings pursuant to Section
1203.4 of the Penal Code;

(6) Evidence, if any of rehabilitation submitted by the licensee.

{e)}(d) When considering a petition for reinstatement of a license, the sBoard shall
evaluate evidence of rehabilitation, considering those criteria of rehabilitation listed in
subsection {b)(c).

Note: Authority cited: Sections 482 and 1614, Business and Professions Code.
Reference: Section 480, 482, 820, Business and Professions Code; Section 11519,
Government Code.
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