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TITLE 16. PROFESSIONAL AND VOCATIONAL REGULATIONS 
DIVISION 10. DENTAL BOARD OF CALIFORNIA 

ORDER OF ADOPTION 

Amend Section 1016 Article 4 of Chapter 1 of Division 10 of Title 16 of the 
California Code of Regulations as follows: 

$ 1016. Continuing Education Courses and Providers 

(a) Definition of Terms: 

(1) Course of Study Defined. "Course of study" means an orderly learning 
experience in an area of study pertaining to dental and medical health 
preventive dental services, diagnosis and treatment planning, clinical 
procedures, basic health sciences, dental practice management and 
administration, communication, ethics, patient management or the Dental 
Practice Act and other laws specifically related to dental practice. 

(2) Coursework Defined. The term "Coursework" used herein refers to materials 
presented or used for continuing education and shall be designed and delivered 
in a manner that serves to directly enhance the licensee's knowledge, skill and 
competence in the provision of service to patients or the community. 

(b) Courses of study for continuing education credit shall include: 

(1) Mandatory courses required by the Board for license renewal to shall include 
a Board-approved course in Infection Control, a Board-approved course in the 
California Dental Practice Act, and completion of certification in Basic Life 
Support, and a Board-approved course on the responsibilities and requirements 
of prescribing Schedule II opioids. 

(A) At a minimum, course content for a Board-approved course in Infection 
Control shall include all content of Section 1005 and the application of the 
regulations in the dental environment. 

(B) At a minimum, course content for the Dental Practice Act [Division 2, 
Chapter 4 of the Code (beginning with $1600)] shall instruct on acts in 
violation of the Dental Practice Act and attending regulations, and other 
statutory mandates relating to the dental practice. This includes utilization 
and scope of practice for auxiliaries and dentists; laws governing the 
prescribing of drugs; professional ethics, citations, fines, revocation and 
suspension of a license, and license renewal; and the mandatory reporter 
obligations set forth in the Child Abuse and Neglect Reporting Act (Penal 
Code Section 11164 et seq.) and the Elder Abuse and Dependent Adult 

Dental Board Order of Adoption Page 1 of 14
16 CCR 1016, 1016.2, 1017 Continuing Education 09/2/2022 



Civil Protection Act (Welfare and Institutions Code Section 15600 et seq.) 
and the clinical signs to look for in identifying abuse. 

(C) The mandatory requirement for certification in Basic Life Support shall 
be met by completion of either: 

(i) An American Heart Association (AHA) or American Red Cross 
(ARC) course in Basic Life Support (BLS) or, 

(ii) A BLS course taught by a provider approved by the American 
Dental Association's Continuing Education Recognition Program 
(CERP) or the Academy of General Dentistry's Program Approval 
for Continuing Education (PACE):, or. 

(iii) A BLS course taught by a provider approved by the American 
Safety and Health Institute (ASHI). 

For the purposes of this section, a Basic Life Support course shall 
include all of the following: 

1. Instruction in both adult and pediatric CPR, including 2-
rescuer scenarios; 

2. Instruction in foreign-body airway obstruction; 

3. Instruction in relief of choking for adults, child and infant; 

4. Instruction in the use of automated external defibrillation 
with CPR; and; 

5. A live, in-person skills practice session, a skills test and a 
written examination; 

The course provider shall ensure that the course meets the 
required criteria. 

(D) At a minimum, course content for a Board-approved course on the 
responsibilities and requirements of prescribing Schedule II opioid drugs 
shall include the practices for pain management in dentistry, regulatory 
requirements for prescribers and dispensers, and dental office procedures 
for managing vulnerable or substance use disorder patients. 

(2) Courses in the actual delivery of dental services to the patient or the 
community, such as: 
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(A) Courses in preventive services, diagnostic protocols and procedures 
including physical evaluation, radiography, dental photography 
comprehensive treatment planning, charting of the oral conditions, 
informed consent protocols and recordkeeping. 

(B) Courses dealing primarily with nutrition and nutrition counseling of the 
patient. 

(C) Courses in esthetic, corrective and restorative oral health diagnosis 
and treatment. 

D) Courses in dentistry's role in individual and community health 
emergencies, disasters, and disaster recovery. 

(E) Courses that pertain to the legal requirement governing the licensee in 
the areas of auxiliary employment and delegation of responsibilities; the 
Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA); actual 
delivery of care. 

(F) Courses pertaining to federal, state and local regulations, guidelines or 
statutes regarding workplace safety, fire and emergency, environmental 
safety, waste disposal and management, general office safety, sexual 
harassment prevention, and all training requirements set forth by the 
California Division of Occupational Safety and Health (Cal-DOSH) 
including the Bloodborne Pathogens Standard. 

(G) Courses pertaining to the administration of general anesthesia, 
moderate sedation, oral conscious sedation or medical emergencies. 

(H) Courses pertaining to the evaluation, selection, use and care of dental 
instruments, sterilization equipment, operatory equipment, and personal 
protective attire. 

(1) Courses in dependency issues and substance abuse such as alcohol 
and drug use as it relates to patient safety, professional misconduct, 
ethical considerations or malpractice 

(J) Courses in behavioral sciences, behavior guidance, and patient 
management in the delivery of care to all populations including special 
needs, pediatric and sedation patients when oriented specifically to the 
clinical care of the patient. 

(K) Courses in the selection, incorporation, and use of current and 
emerging technologies. 
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(L) Courses in cultural competencies such as bilingual dental terminology, 
cross-cultural communication, provision of public health dentistry, and the 
dental professional's role in provision of care in non-traditional settings 
when oriented specifically to the needs of the dental patient and will serve 
to enhance the patient experience. 

(M) Courses in dentistry's role in individual and community health 
programs. 

(N) Courses pertaining to the legal and ethical aspects of the insurance 
industry, to include management of third party payer issues, dental billing 
practices, patient and provider appeals of payment disputes and patient 
management of billing matters. 

3) Courses in the following areas are considered to be primarily of benefit to the 
licensee and shall be limited to a maximum of 20% of a licensee's total required 
course unit credits for each license or permit renewal period: 

(A) Courses to improve recall and scheduling systems, production flow, 
communication systems and data management. 

(B) Courses in organization and management of the dental practice 
including business planning and operations, office computerization and 
design, ergonomics, and the improvement of practice administration and 
office operations. 

(C) Courses in leadership development and team development. 

(D) Coursework in teaching methodology and curricula development. 

(E) Coursework in peer evaluation and case studies that include reviewing 
clinical evaluation procedures, reviewing diagnostic methods, studying 
radiographic data, study models and treatment planning procedures. 

(F) Courses in human resource management and employee benefits. 

(4) Courses considered to be of direct benefit to the licensee or outside the 
scope of dental practice in California include the following, and shall not be 
recognized for continuing education credit: 

(A) Courses in money management, the licensee's personal finances or 
personal business matters such as financial planning, or estate planning, 
and personal investments. 

(B) Courses in general physical fitness, weight management or the 
licensee's personal health. 
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C) Presentations by political or public figures or other persons that do not 
deal primarily with dental practice or issues impacting the dental 
profession 

(D) Courses designed to make the licensee a better business person or 
designed to improve licensee personal profitability, including motivation 

and marketing. 

(E) Courses pertaining to the purchase or sale of a dental practice, 
business or office; courses in transfer of practice ownership, acquisition of 
partners and associates, practice valuation, practice transitions, or 
retirement. 

(F) Courses pertaining to the provision of elective facial cosmetic surgery 
as defined by the Dental Practice Act in Section 1638.1, unless the 
licensee has a special permit obtained from the Board to perform such 
procedures pursuant to Section 1638.1 of the Code. 

(5) Completion of a course does not constitute authorization for the attendee to 
perform any services that he or she is not legally authorized to perform based on 
his or her license or permit type. 

(c) Registered Provider Application and Renewal 

(1) An applicant for registration as a provider shall submit an "Application for 
Continuing Education Provider (Rev. 05/09)" that is hereby incorporated by 
reference. The application shall be accompanied by the fee required by section 
1021. The applicant or, if the applicant is not an individual but acting on behalf of 
a business entity, the individual authorized by the business to act on its behalf 
shall certify that he or she will only offer courses and issue certificates for 
courses that meet the requirements in this section. 

(2) To renew its registration, a provider shall submit a "Continuing Education 
Registered Provider Permit Renewal Application (12/15/08)" that is hereby 
incorporated by reference. The application shall be accompanied by the fee 
required by section 1021 and a biennial report listing each of the course titles 
offered, the 11-digit registration number issued to each course, the number of 
units issued for each course, the dates of all courses offered, the name and 
qualifications of each instructor, a summary of the content of each course of 
study, and a sample of the provider's written certification issued to participants 
during the last renewal period. 

(d) Standards for Registration as an Approved Provider 
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(1) Each course of study shall be conducted on the same educational standards 
of scholarship and teaching as that required of a true university discipline and 
shall be supported by those facilities and educational resources necessary to 
comply with this requirement. Every instructor or presenter of a continuing 
education course shall possess education or experience for at least two years in 
the subject area being taught. Each course of study shall clearly state 
educational objectives that can realistically be accomplished within the 
framework of the course. Teaching methods for each course of study shall be 
described (e.g., lecture, seminar, audiovisual, clinical, simulation, etc.) on all 
provider reports. 

(2) The topic of instruction and course content shall conform to this section. 

(3) An opportunity to enroll in such courses of study shall be made available to all 
dental licensees. 

(e) Enforcement, Provider Records Retention and Availability of Provider Records 

(1) (A) The Board may not grant prior approval to individual courses 
unless a course is required as a mandatory license renewal course. The 
minimum course content of all mandatory continuing education courses for 
all registered providers is set out in subsections (b)(1)(A-GD). Providers 
shall be expected to adhere to these minimum course content 
requirements or risk registered provider status. 

(B) Beginning January 1, 2006, all All registered providers shall submit 
their course content outlines for Infection Control and California Dental 
Practice Act to the Board staff for review and approval. If a provider 
wishes to make any significant changes towhich includes altering the 
course content of a previously approved mandatory course in Infection 
Control and the California Dental Practice Act, the provider shall submit a 
new course content outline to the Board. A provider may not offer the 
mandatory significantly changed course until the Board approves the new 
course outline. All new applicants for provider status shall submit course 
content outlines for mandatory education courses in Infection Control and 
California Dental Practice Act to the board staff for review and approval at 
the time of application and prior to instruction of mandatory education 
courses. 

(2) Providers must possess and maintain the following: 

(A) Speaker curriculum vitae; 

(B) Course content outline; 

(C) Educational objectives or outcomes; 
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(D) Teaching methods utilized; 

(E) Evidence of registration numbers and units issued to each course; 

(F) Attendance records and rosters 

3) The board may randomly audit a provider for any course submitted for credit 
by a licensee in addition to any course for which a complaint is received. If an 
audit is conducted, the provider shall submit to the Board the following 
information and documentation: 

(A) Speaker curriculum vitae; 

(B) Course content outline; 

(C) Educational objectives or outcomes; 

(D) Teaching methods utilized; 

(E) Evidence of registration numbers and units issued to each course; and 

(F) Attendance records and rosters. 

(4) All provider records described in this article shall be retained for a period of 
no less than three provider renewal periods. 

(f) Withdrawal of Provider Registration 

(1) The Board retains the right and authority to audit or monitor courses given by 
any provider. The Board may withdraw or place restrictions on a provider's 
registration if the provider has disseminated any false or misleading information 
in connection with the continuing education program, fails to comply with 
regulations, misrepresents the course offered, makes any false statement on its 
application or otherwise violates any provision of the Dental Practice Act or the 
regulations adopted thereunder. 

(2) Any provider whose registration is withdrawn or restricted shall be granted a 
hearing before the executive officer or his or her designee prior to the effective 
date of such action. The provider shall be given at least ten days notice of the 
grounds for the proposed action and the time and place of such hearing. 

(g) Provider Issuance of Units of Credit for Attendance 
One unit of credit shall be granted for every hour of contact instruction and may 
be issued in half-hour increments. Such increments shall be represented by the 
use of a decimal point in between the first two numbers of the 11-digit registration 
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number of the course. This credit shall apply to either academic or clinical 
instruction. Eight units shall be the maximum continuing education credits 
granted in one day. 

(h) Additional Provider Responsibilities 

(1) A provider shall furnish a written certification of course completion to each 
licensee certifying that the licensee has met the attendance requirements of the 
course. Such certification shall not be issued until completion of the course and 
shall contain the following: 

(A) The licensee's, name and license or permit number, the provider's 
name, the 11-digit course registration number in the upper left hand corner 
of the certificate, date or dates attended, the number of units earned, and 
a place for the licensee to sign and date verifying attendance. 

(B) An authorizing signature of the provider or the providing entity and a 
statement that reads: "All of the information contained on this certificate is 
truthful and accurate." 

(C) A statement on each certification that reads: "Completion of this 
course does not constitute authorization for the attendee to perform any 
services that he or she is not legally authorized to perform based on his or 
her license or permit type." 

(2) If an individual whose license or permit has been cancelled, revoked, or 
voluntarily surrendered attends and completes a continuing education course 
the provider or attendee may document on the certificate of course completion 
the license or permit number the individual held before the license or permit was 
cancelled, revoked, or voluntarily surrendered. 

(3) When two or more registered providers co-sponsor a course, only one 
provider number shall be used for that course and that provider must assume full 
responsibility for compliance with the requirements of this article. 

(4) Only Board-approved providers whose course content outlines for Infection 
Control and California Dental Practice Act have been submitted and approved by 
the Board may issue continuing education certifications to participants of these 
courses. 

(5) The instructor of a course who holds a current and active license or permit to 
practice issued by the Board may receive continuing education credit for up to 
20% of their total required units per renewal period for the course or courses they 
teach for a provider other than themselves. 
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6) Upon request, a provider shall issue a duplicate certification to a licensee 
whose name appears on the provider's original roster of course attendees. A 
provider may not issue a duplicate certification to a licensee whose name is not 
on the original roster of course attendees. The provider, not the licensee shall 
clearly mark on the certificate the word "duplicate." 

(7) Providers shall place the following statement on all certifications, course 
advertisements, brochures and other publications relating to all course offerings: 
'This course meets the Dental Board of California's requirements for _(number 
of)_units of continuing education." 

(i) Out of State Courses and Courses Offered by Other Authorized and Non-
Authorized Providers 

(1) Notwithstanding subdivision (b) of Section 1016, licensees who attend 
continuing education courses given by providers approved by the American 
Dental Association's Continuing Education Recognition Program (CERP) or the 
Academy of General Dentistry's Program Approval for Continuing Education 
(PACE) and who obtain a certification of attendance from the provider or sponsor 
shall be given credit towards his or her total continuing education requirement for 
renewal of his or her license with the exception of mandatory continuing 
education courses, if the course meets the requirements of continuing education 
set forth in this section. 

(bj) A licensee who attends a course or program that meets all content requirements 
for continuing education pursuant to these regulations, but was presented outside 
California by a provider not approved by the Board, may petition the Board for 
consideration of the course by submitting information on course content, course 
duration and evidence from the provider of course completion. 

When the necessary requirements have been fulfilled, the Board may issue a written 
certificate of course completion for the approved number of units, which the licensee 
may then use for documentation of continuing education credits. 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 1614 and 1645, Business and Professions Code. 
Reference: Section 1645, Business and Professions Code. 

Adopt Section 1016.2 of Division 10 of Title 16 of the California Code of 
Regulations to read as follows: 

Section 1016.2. Requirements for Basic Life Support Courses for Dental 
Assistants and Licensure of Registered Dental Assistants, Orthodontic 
Assistants, and Dental Sedation Assistants 

(a) For the purpose of Code sections 1750(c)(3), 1750.2(a)(3), 1750.4(a)(3) and 
1752.1(e)(3), and for the purpose of licensure renewal, the following are deemed to be 
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equivalent basic life support (BLS) courses to the American Heart Association (AHA) or 
the American Red Cross (ARC) 

(1) A BLS course taught by a provider approved by the American Dental 
Association's Continuing Education Recognition Program (CERP) or the 
Academy of General Dentistry's Program Approval for Continuing Education 
(PACE). 

(2) A BLS course taught by a provider approved by the American Safety and 
Health Institute (ASHI). 

(b) For the purposes of this section, a Basic Life Support course shall include all of the 
following: 

(1) Instruction in both adult and pediatric cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR), 
including 2-rescuer scenarios; 

(2) Instruction in foreign-body airway obstruction; 

(3) Instruction in relief of choking for adults, children and infants; 

(4) Instruction in the use of automated external defibrillation with CPR; and; 

(5) A live, in-person skills practice session, a skills test, and a written 
examination. 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 1614 and 1645, Business and Professions Code. 
Reference: Sections 1645, 1750, 1750.2, 1750.4 and 1752.1, Business and Professions 
Code 

Amend Section 1017 Article 4 of Chapter 1 of Division 10 of Title 16 of the 
California Code of Regulations as follows: 

$ 1017. Continuing Education Units Required for Renewal of License or Permit. 

(a) As a condition of renewal, all licensees are required to complete continuing 
education as follows: 

(1) Two units of continuing education in Infection Control specific to California 
regulations as defined in Ssection 1016(b)(1)(A). 

(2) Two units of continuing education in the California Dental Practice Act and its 
related regulations as defined in Ssection 1016(b)(1)(B). 
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3) A maximum of four units of a course in Basic Life Support as specified in 
Ssection 1016(b)(1)(C). 

(4) Only dentists shall be required to complete two units of continuing education 
on the subjects set forth in 1016(b)(1)(D). 

(b) Mandatory continuing education units count toward the total units required to 
renew a license or permit; however, failure to complete the mandatory courses will 
result in non-renewal of a license or permit. Any continuing education units 
accumulated before April 8, 2010 that meet the requirements in effect on the date 
the units were accumulated will be accepted by the Board for license or permit 
renewals taking place on or after April 8, 2010. 

(c) All licensees shall accumulate the continuing education units equal to the number 
of units indicated below during the biennial license or permit renewal period 
assigned by the Board on each license or permit. All licensees shall verify to the 
Board that he or she who has been issued a license or permit to practice for a period 
less than two years shall begin accumulating continuing education credits within the 
next biennial renewal period occurring after the issuance of a new license or permit 
to practice. 

(1) Dentists: 50 units. 

(2) Registered dental hygienists: 25 units. 

(3) Registered dental assistants: 25 units. 

(4) Dental Sedation Assistant Permit Holders: 25 units. 

5) Orthodontic Assistant Permit Holders: 25 units. 

(6) Registered dental hygienists in extended functions: 25 units. 

(7) Registered dental assistants in extended functions: 25 units. 

(8) Registered dental hygienists in alternative practice: 35 units. 

(d) Each dentist licensee who holds a general anesthesia permit shall complete, as a 
condition of permit renewal, continuing education requirements pursuant to Section 
1646.5 of the Business and Professions Code at least once every two years, and 
either 

(1) an advanced cardiac life support course which is approved by the American 
Heart Association and which includes an examination on the materials presented 
in the course or (2) any other advanced cardiac life support course which is 
identical in all respects, except for the omission of materials that relate solely to 
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hospital emergencies or neonatology, to the course entitled "2005 American 
Heart Association Guidelines for Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation and Emergency 
Cardiovascular Care" published by the American Heart Association December 
13, 2005 which is incorporated herein by reference. 

(e) Each dentist licensee who holds a moderate sedation permit shall complete at 
least once every two years a minimum of 15 total units of coursework related to the 
administration of moderate sedation and to medical emergencies, as a condition of 
permit renewal, in continuing education requirements pursuant to Section 1647.5 of 
the of the Business and Professions Code. Refusal to execute the required 
assurance shall result in non-renewal of the permit. 

( Each dentist licensee who holds an oral conscious sedation permit for minors, as 
a condition of permit renewal, shall complete at least once every two years a 
minimum of 7 total units of coursework related to the subject area in continuing 
education requirements pursuant to Section 1647.13 of the Business and 
Professions Code 

(f)(9)-Each dentist licensee who holds an oral conscious sedation permit for adults, 
as a condition of permit renewal, shall complete at least once every two years a 
minimum of 7 total units of coursework related to the subject area in continuing 
education requirements pursuant to Section 1647.21 of the of the Business-and 
Professions Code 

(q)(h) Notwithstanding any other provisions of this sectioncode, tape recorded 
courses, home study materials, video courses, and computer courses are 
considered correspondence courses, and will be accepted for credit up to, but not 
exceeding, 50% of the licensee's total required units. 

(h)() In the event that a portion of a licensee's units have been obtained through 
non-live instruction, as described in Section subsection (9) (h) above, all remaining 
units shall be obtained through live interactive course study with the option to obtain 
100% of the total required units by way of interactive instruction courses. Such 
courses are defined as live lecture, live telephone conferencing, live video 
conferencing, live workshop demonstration, or live classroom study. 

(i)()-Licensees who provide direct patient care as an unpaid volunteer at a free 
public health care event or non-profit community health clinic shall be issued 
continuing education credit of one unit per hour of providing unpaid volunteer dental 
services to patients, for up to three units of their total continuing education unit 
requirements for license renewal. Units of credit may be issued in half hour 
increments. 

(j) Licensees who participate in the following activities shall be issued continuing 
education credit for up to 20% of their total continuing education unit requirements 
for license renewal: 
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(1) Participation in any Dental Board of California or Western Regional 
Examination Board (WREB) administered examination including attendance at 
calibration training, examiner orientation sessions, and examinations. 

(2) Participation in any site visit or evaluation relating to issuance and 
maintenance of a general anesthesia, moderate sedation or oral conscious 
sedation permit. 

(3) Participation in any calibration training and site evaluation training session 
relating to general anesthesia, moderate sedation or oral conscious sedation 
permits. 

(4) Participation in any site visit or evaluation of an approved dental auxiliary 
program or dental auxiliary course. 

(k) The Board shall issue to participants in the activities listed in subdivision 
subsection (j) a certificate that contains the date, time, location, authorizing 
signature, 11-digit course registration number, and number of units conferred for 
each activity consistent with all certificate requirements herein required for the 
purposes of records retention and auditing. 

(1) The license or permit of any person who fails to accumulate the continuing 
education units set forth in this section or to assure the Bboard that he or she will 
accumulate such units, shall not be renewed until such time as the licensee 
complies with those requirements. 

(m) A licensee who has not practiced in California for more than one year because 
the licensee is disabled need not comply with the continuing education requirements 
of this article during the renewal period within which such disability falls. Such 
licensee shall certify in writing that he or she is eligible for waiver of the continuing 
education requirements. A licensee who ceases to be eligible for such waiver shall 
notify the Board of such and shall comply with the continuing education 
requirements for subsequent renewal periods. 

(n) A licensee shall retain, for a period of three renewal periods, the certificates of 
course completion issued to him or her at the time he or she attended a continuing 
education course and shall forward such certifications to the Board only upon 
request by the Board for audit purposes. A licensee who fails to retain a certification 
shall contact the provider and obtain a duplicate certification. 

(0) Any licensee who furnishes false or misleading information to the Board 
regarding his or her continuing education units may be subject to disciplinary action. 
The Board may audit a licensee continuing education records as it deems necessary 
to ensure that the continuing education requirements are met. 
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(p) A licensee who also holds a special-permit for general anesthesia, moderate 
sedation, or oral conscious sedation of a minor or of an adult, may apply the 
continuing education units required in the specific subject areas to their dental 
license renewal requirements. 

(q) A registered dental assistant or registered dental assistant in extended functions 
who holds a permit as an orthodontic assistant or a dental sedation assistant shall 
not be required to complete additional continuing education requirements beyond 
that which is required for licensure renewal in order to renew either permit. 

(r) Pertaining to licenssees holding more than one license or permit, the license or 
permit that requires the largest number of continuing education units for renewal 
shall equal the licensee's full renewal requirement. Dual licensure, or licensure with 
permit, shall not require duplication of continuing education requirements. 

(s) Current and active licensees enrolled in a full-time educational program in the 
field of dentistry, including dental school program, residency program, postdoctoral 
specialty program, dental hygiene school program, dental hygiene in alternative 
practice program, or registered dental assisting in extended functions program 
approved by the Board or the ADA Commission on Dental Accreditation shall be 
granted continuing education credits for completed curriculum during that renewal 
period. In the event of audit, licensees shall be required to present school transcripts 
to the Board as evidence of enrollment and course completion. 

(t) Current and active dental sedation assistant and orthodontic assistant permit 
holders enrolled in a full-time dental hygiene school program, dental assisting 
program, or registered dental assisting in extended functions program approved by 
the Board or the ADA Commission on Dental Accreditation shall be granted 
continuing education credits for completed curriculum during that renewal period. In 
the event of audit, assisting permit holders shall be required to present school 
transcripts to the committee or Board as evidence of enrollment and course 
completion. 

(u) Continuing education for retired dentists in only uncompensated practice shall 
include mandatory courses described at Section 1016(b)(1) and courses directly 
related to the delivery of dental services to patients described at Section 1016(b)(2) 
and shall be no less than 30 units. 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 1614 and 1645, Business and Professions Code. 
Reference: Sections 1645, 1646.5, and 1647.5, Business and Professions Code. 
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