- Approved DA Courses
- Dental Workforce Survey
- Online License Renewal (DDS)
- Dental Hygiene Committee
- E-mail Mailing List
- License Renewal Information (RDA)
- Licensure by Residency
- Board Calendar
- Diversion Program
- License Verification
- Laws and Regulations
- Address Change Form (DDS)
- Name Change Form (DDS)
- Board Newsletters
- Complaint Form
- Education Providers
- Military Information
General Anesthesia Permits
Primary requirements for a permit to administer general anesthesia can be found in the following sections of the Business and Professions Code and the California Code of Regulations:
Business and Professions Code, Section 1646
- A completed application form with fee, ensuring that any office setting where anesthesia is administered, complies with the requirements set in regulations adopted by the Board (16 CCR 1043.3).
- A current, active license to practice dentistry in this state, or a current permit issued pursuant to Business and Professions Code, Sections 1638 or 1640, or a current license in good standing to practice medicine in this state.
- Non-refundable application fee: $200
- Provide documentation of one of the following:
- For the dentist applicant:
- Documentation of the successful completion of a residency program in anesthesia of not less than one calendar year, that is approved by the Board of Directors of the American Dental Society of Anesthesiology for eligibility for fellowship in general anesthesia.
- Documentation of the successful completion of a graduate program in oral and maxillofacial surgery which has been approved by the Commission on Accreditation of the American Dental Association.
- Have a fellowship in anesthesia approved by the Board of Directors of the American Dental Society of Anesthesiology.
- For the physician applicant:
- Documentation of the successful completion of a postgraduate residency training program in anesthesiology recognized by the American Council on Graduate Medical Education.
- Copy of your ABMS certificate in anesthesiology
- For the dentist applicant:
Anesthesia permits expire when the qualifying license expires and must be renewed every two years. The fee for renewal is $200. The continuing education requirement for renewal is twenty-four units of approved courses related to general anesthesia. Successful completion of an advanced cardiac life support (ACLS) course is required for renewal (16 CCR 1017(b)). ACLS course units earned may be applied to the units required for renewal of a general anesthesia permit.
Prior to the issuance or renewal of a permit, the board may require an onsite inspection and evaluation of the licentiate and the facility. Every dentist issued a permit shall have an onsite inspection and evaluation at least once every five years. The fee for an onsite inspection is $250.
See Title 16, California Code of Regulations, Section 1061.
For additional information, contact the Board at (916) 263-2300.