- Approved DA Courses
- Dental Workforce Survey
- Online License Renewal (DDS)
- Dental Hygiene Committee
- E-mail Mailing List
- License Renewal Information (RDA)
- Licensure by Residency
- Board Calendar
- Diversion Program
- License Verification
- Laws and Regulations
- Address Change Form (DDS)
- Name Change Form (DDS)
- Board Newsletters
- Complaint Form
- Education Providers
- Military Information
Business and Professions Code, Section 1647.1, defines Conscious Sedation as, "...a minimally depressed level of consciousness produced by a pharmacologic or nonpharmacologic method, or a combination thereof, that retains the patient's ability to maintain independently and continuously an airway, and respond appropriately to physical stimulation or verbal command. "Conscious sedation" does not include the administration of oral medications or the administration of a mixture of nitrous oxide and oxygen, whether administered alone or in combination with each other."
The following provide specific information regarding Conscious Sedation Permits:
Business and Professions Code, Section 1647 - 1647.9
Business and Professions Code, Section 1680(z)
Business and Professions Code, Section 1682
Title 16, California Code of Regulations, Section 1043
Applying for a Conscious Sedation PermitThe requirements for a permit to administer conscious sedation include, but may not be limited to:
- A completed application form with fee, ensuring that any office setting where conscious sedation is administered, complies with the requirements set in regulations adopted by the Board (Title 16 California Code of Regulations, Section 1043.3). Application Form
- A current, active license to practice dentistry in this state, or a current permit issued pursuant to Business and Professions Code, Section 1638 or 1640.
- Documentation of successful completion of a course of training in conscious sedation that consists of at least 60 hours of instruction and satisfactory completion of at least 20 cases of the administration of conscious sedation for a variety of dental procedures. The course must comply with the requirements of the Guidelines for Teaching the Comprehensive Control of Pain and Anxiety in Dentistry of the American Dental Association. Applicant must provide completed Form CS-2.
- Non-refundable application fee: $500
A conscious sedation permit is issued as a temporary permit for the first year. Within that time, the board will conduct an onsite inspection and evaluation of the licentiate and the facility (Title 16 California Code of Regulations, Section 1043.3). Onsite inspections are required every six years, however, the board may require an onsite inspection and evaluation prior to the issuance or renewal of a permit. The fee for an oniste inspection is $2000.00
Renewing Your Permit
Conscious sedation permits expire when the qualifying license expires and must be renewed every two years. The fee for renewal is $325. The continuing education requirement for permit renewal is fifteen units of approved courses related to conscious sedation and medical emergencies. (Business and Professions Code, Section 1647.5
Processing TimesSee Title 16, California Code of Regulations, Section 1061.
For more information, call (916)263-2300 or email firstname.lastname@example.org