
BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS

DISCIPLINARY GUIDELINES WITH MODEL LANGUAGE


NOVEMBER 8, 1996


These guidelines are for use by administrative law judges, attorneys and any licensee involved in 
settlement of disciplinary actions or statement of issues proceedings.  It is emphasized that these 
are guidelines and the Board acknowledges that there may be departures in individual cases 
depending upon mitigating or aggravating circumstances.  Probation conditions are divided into 
two categories: (1) Standard conditions, to be used in all cases of probation; and (2) Optional 
conditions, to be imposed dependent upon the circumstances and nature of an individual case. 
Optional conditions will be used to define the extent of the disciplinary action if a given case 
warrants a penalty above the minimum established but below the established maximum.  In a 
Statement of Issues, optional conditions should also be used if a probationary license is issued 
depending upon the nature and circumstances of the matter. 

STANDARD CONDITIONS OF PROBATION 

1.	 Obey All Laws - Respondent shall comply with all conditions of probation and obey federal, 
state and local laws and all rules and regulations governing the practice of dentistry in 
California, and remain in full compliance with any court ordered criminal probation, 
payments and other requirements. 

2.	 Quarterly Declarations - Respondent shall submit quarterly declarations under penalty of 
perjury on the Board's Quarterly Report of Compliance forms provided by the Board, stating 
whether there has been compliance with all the conditions of probation. 

3.	 Probation Surveillance - Respondent shall comply with the Board's probation surveillance 
program. 

4.	 Interviews - Respondent shall appear in person for interviews with a Board representative 
upon request at various intervals and with reasonable notice. 

5.	 Change of Address - Respondent shall inform the Board in writing within 15 days of any 
change of place of practice or place of residence.  Respondent shall at all times keep the 
Board informed of his or her address of business and residence which shall both serve as 
addresses of record. Under no circumstances shall a post office box serve as an address 
of record. 

Respondent shall also immediately inform the Board, in writing, of any travel to any areas 
outside the jurisdiction of California which lasts, or is contemplated to last, more than thirty 
(30) days. 

6.	 Cost Recovery - Respondent is hereby ordered to reimburse the Board the amount of 
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7. 

8. 

9. 

$_____ within 90 days from the effective date of this decision for its investigative and 
prosecutorial costs up to the date of the hearing.  Failure to reimburse the Board’s cost of 
its investigation and prosecution shall constitute a violation of the probationary order, 
unless the Board or its Executive Officer agrees in writing to payment by an installment 
plan because of financial hardship. However, full payment must be received no later than 
one year prior to the scheduled termination of probation. 

License Surrender - Following the effective date of this decision, if respondent ceases 
practicing due to retirement, health reasons or is otherwise unable to satisfy the terms and 
conditions of probation, respondent may voluntarily surrender his/her license to the Board. 
The Board reserves the right to evaluate the respondent’s request and to exercise its 
discretion whether to grant the request, or to take any other action deemed appropriate and 
reasonable under the circumstances. Upon formal acceptance of the tendered license, 
respondent will no longer be subject to the terms and conditions of probation. 

Absence from State/Practice - In the event respondent should leave California to reside or 
practice outside the State, respondent must provide written notification to the Board of the 
dates of departure and return. Periods of residence or practice outside of California will not 
apply to the reduction of the probationary period.  In the event respondent ceases to 
actively practice [dentistry] [dental auxiliary duties] in California, respondent must provide 
written notification of that fact to the Board.  The period when the respondent is not 
practicing will not apply to the reduction of the probationary period.  Absence from the state 
or absence from practice shall not relieve the respondent from fulfilling the conditions of 
probation requiring reimbursement of costs or restitution to patients or on behalf of patients. 

Continuance of Probationary Term/Completion of Probation - If respondent violates the 
terms of this probation in any respect, the Board, after giving respondent notice and the 
opportunity to be heard, may set aside the stay order and impose the revocation or 
suspension of the respondent's license. If, during the period of probation, an accusation 
and/or a petition to revoke probation has been filed against respondent's license or the 
Attorney General's Office has been requested to prepare an accusation and/or a petition to 
revoke probation against respondent's license, the probationary period shall automatically 
be extended and shall not expire until the accusation and/or the petition to revoke probation 
has been acted upon by the Board. Upon successful completion of probation, respondent's 
license will be fully restored. 
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OPTIONAL CONDITIONS OF PROBATION

MODEL LANGUAGE


1. Suspension - In those cases where suspension is warranted, the suspension must be a 
minimum of 20 days unless otherwise noted. In those cases involving fraud, false advertising or 
excessive billing, the minimum period of suspension shall be 30 days. 

Model Language 

Suspension - Commencing from the effective date of this decision, respondent shall be 
suspended from the practice of dentistry for a period of (days or months). Respondent shall 
not mislead patients regarding the reasons for suspension from practicing dentistry. 
During the suspension respondent shall not practice dentistry directly or indirectly, including 
the supervision of dental auxiliaries, nor shall respondent receive or have set aside for 
future receipt, any new monies derived from the practice of dentistry as defined by the 
provisions of Business and Professions Code Section 1625, which includes managing or 
conducting as manager, proprietor, conductor, lessor, or otherwise, a place where dental 
operations are performed. 

If respondent operates his or her own office as a solo practice or as a one person 
professional corporation, said office is to be closed except for administrative purposes 
(making future appointments when suspension is over, opening mail, referring patients, 
accepting payments on account, and general office administration); and respondent shall 
not lease the dental office nor make any monetary gain from the practice earned during the 
period of time that the office is closed. 

2. Remedial Education - In those instances where a licensee has demonstrated negligence 
and/or incompetence, or has been found guilty of performing work or attempting treatment beyond 
the scope of training and/or experience, the Board will impose a program of remedial education. 
This program shall specify the areas and hours of education required, and may also dictate the 
institution(s) where the education will be received.  A remedial education program is usually 
required prior to allowing the licensee to return to the identified deficient area of practice, and will 
be based upon its prior approval by the Board. Continuing education courses used for renewal of 
licensure will not fulfill the remedial education requirement. 

Model Language 

Remedial Education - Within (30 to 90 days) of the effective date of this decision, 
respondent shall submit to the Board for its prior approval, an appropriate program of 
remedial education related to (the cause of disciplinary action) in an educational facility or 
program which must also to be approved by the Board. (If appropriate, respondent shall be 
evaluated by a dental educational institution prior to submitting remedial education courses 
for approval.)  The exact number of hours and specific content of the program shall be 
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determined by the Board or its designee. Respondent shall successfully complete the 
remedial education program and may be required to pass an examination administered by 
the Board or its designee related to the program’s content.  (If appropriate, respondent shall 
be restricted from the practice of {areas where a deficiency has been identified} until the 
remedial education program has been successfully completed.)  Respondent shall pay all 
costs of the remedial education program.  The period of probation will be extended, if 
necessary, until such remedial education is completed.  Continuing education courses used 
for the renewal of licensure will not be used for remedial education. 

NOTE: This program is for dentists and auxiliaries who have demonstrated 
deficiencies in skill but do not constitute a present danger to patients in other areas 
of practice. 

3. Examination - This condition concerns itself with those individuals who are very deficient in the 
practice of dentistry or who have had a prior revocation and are petitioning the Board for 
reinstatement of their license. This condition will also apply to licensees who have had prior 
restrictions on practicing in a particular area or specialty field. 

Model Language 

Examination - Within ______ months of the effective date respondent shall take and pass 
an examination in (area(s) of identified deficiencies)(if licensure exam is required, it shall be 
taken on a regularly scheduled examination date and respondent must successfully pass 
the complete examination based upon the same standards of the initial licensure 
examination).  Respondent shall pay all fees related to examination. If unsuccessful, 
respondent may not be reexamined prior to 60 days after failure of the examination and 
may not take the examination more than three times per year.  If respondent fails the 
examination three times, a period of one year must pass prior to retaking the required 
examination. Under the condition of failure for three times, the respondent must also show 
evidence of remediation in the deficient area(s) prior to retaking the examination. 
Respondent must be successful with a score of 75% in each section of the examination in 
order to fulfill this requirement and may not practice until totally successful. 

(Continue with either one of these two options.) 

OPTION #1: Condition Precedent 

Respondent shall not practice dentistry until respondent has passed the required 
examination and has been so notified by the Board or its designee in writing.  This 
prohibition shall not bar respondent from practicing in a clinical training program 
approved by the Board, or its designee. Respondent’s practice shall be restricted 
only to that which is required by the approved training program. 

OPTION #2: Condition Subsequent 
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If respondent fails to pass the first examination, respondent shall be suspended from 
the practice of dentistry until a repeat examination has been successfully passed, as 
evidenced by written notice to respondent from the Board or its designee. 

NOTE:	 The condition precedent option is particularly recommended in cases 
where respondent has been found guilty of gross negligence, 
incompetence or repeated negligence and is a present danger to 
patients. 

4. Supervised Environment - This condition allows the Board to monitor the competency of 
respondent by use of a fellow practitioner. It is most appropriate in those cases involving 
incompetence, negligence, drug abuse, and sexual misconduct.  The type of supervision needs to 
be clearly defined relative to the necessity for the presence of the supervisor.  Direct supervision 
would require the physical presence of the supervisor during the time dental procedures are 
performed. General supervision does not require the physical presence of the supervising dentist. 
The type of required supervision depends on the severity of the violation(s). 

Model Language 

Supervised Environment - Within 60 days of the effective date of this decision, respondent 
shall submit to the Board, for its prior approval, the name and qualifications of one or more 
proposed supervisors and a plan for each such supervisor by which respondent's practice 
would be supervised. Respondent shall not practice until receiving notification of Board 
approval of respondent's choice of a supervisor. 

The plan of supervision shall be (direct and require the physical presence of the 
supervising dentist in the dental office during the time dental procedures are performed.) 
(general and not require the physical presence of the supervising dentist during the time 
dental procedures are performed but does require an occasional random check of the work 
performed on the patient).  Additionally, the supervisor shall have full and random access to 
all patient records of respondent. 

Each proposed supervisor shall be a California licensed dentist who shall submit written 
reports to the Board on a quarterly basis verifying that supervision has taken place as 
required and include an evaluation of respondent's performance.  It shall be respondent's 
responsibility to assure that the required reports are filed in a timely manner.  

The supervisor shall be independent, with no prior business or professional relationship 
with respondent and the supervisor shall not be in a familial relationship with or be an 
employee, partner or associate of respondent. If the supervisor terminates or is otherwise 
no longer available, respondent shall not practice until a new supervisor has been approved 
by the Board. All costs of the supervision shall be borne by the respondent. 

OPTION:	 Additionally, respondent may be prohibited from engaging in solo practice as 
well as being required to work in a supervised environment. 

5. Restricted Practice - This condition is directed toward those licensees who need to have their 
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practice restricted in a specific area/specialty due to physical/educational limits, or need to have 
their patient population restricted due to established harm.  This condition is primarily intended to 
protect future patients from potential abuse and/or harm. 

In those cases where practice is restricted by either scope of practice or by the age and/or gender 
of patients, the respondent must notify all current and prospective patients of the restriction. 

Model Language 

Restricted Practice - Respondent shall not practice in (area of noted deficiency) (shall not 
treat {male}{female}{minors} patients {without the presence of another party}).  Within 30 
days from the effective date of this decision, respondent shall submit to the Board, for prior 
approval, a plan to implement this restriction.  Respondent shall, within 30 days of the 
effective date of the decision, submit to the Board for its approval name(s) of persons who 
will act as the third party present. The respondent shall execute a release authorizing the 
third party(s) present to divulge any information that the Board may request during 
interviews by the probation monitor on a periodic basis. Respondent shall submit proof 
satisfactory to the Board of compliance with this term of probation. 

NOTE:	 Respondents found to have violation(s) or conviction(s) of sexual misconduct 
shall also be placed in a supervised environment. 

6. Sale or Closure of an Office and/or Practice - If a dentist will be under suspension for a long 
period of time or if placed under a restricted/supervised practice setting, the dentist may need to 
sell and/or close the practice. Where a sale or closure may or could occur, conditions of probation 
should be levied which ensure: 

1. The dentist provides for the continuity of care and the transfer of records for all patients; 

2. The dentist refunds to patients any money paid for work not performed; and, 

3. The dentist must not misrepresent to anyone the reasons for the sale/closure of the 
office and/or practice. 

Model Language 

Sale or Closure of an Office and/or Practice - If respondent sells or closes his or her office 
after the imposition of administrative discipline, respondent shall ensure the continuity of 
patient care and the transfer of patient records.  Respondent shall also ensure that patients 
are refunded money for dental work not performed, and shall not misrepresent to anyone 
the reason for the sale or closure of the office and/or practice.  The provisions of this 
condition in no way authorize the practice of dentistry by the respondent during any period 
of license suspension. 

7. Restitution - Where there has been patient harm resulting from negligent or incompetent 
treatment or a determination has been made concerning fraudulent billing, restitution may be 
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warranted. Careful scrutiny should be made to ensure that proper restitution is made to either the 
patient or any other applicable entity.  Reimbursement may be made within a specific time frame 
and/or on a payment schedule. Restitution should cover those amounts which were a direct result 
of the actions of respondent. 

Model Language 

Restitution - Within (30 to 90) days of the effective date of this decision, respondent shall 
make restitution to (patient or entity) in the amount of (dollar amount). 

OPTION:	 A payment schedule may be made. 

8.	 Community Service Condition of Probation - This may be a separate condition of probation. 
It may also be an alternative to all or part of the period of suspension unless the dentist has 
been found guilty of violations of quality of care.  (B&P 1671(e)). If the violation relates to 
quality of care, the community service shall not be dentally related. This condition may 
also be imposed in addition to, as well as in lieu of, a period of suspension. 

Model Language 

Community Service (as a Condition of Probation) - Within 60 days of the effective date of 
this decision, respondent shall submit to the Board, for its prior approval, a community 
service program for the (first year of probation or a specified period of probation) in which 
respondent shall provide volunteer services on a regular basis to a non-profit community or 
charitable facility or agency for at least (number of hours per month/year for the first year or 
specified period of probation).  Such community service shall be (dentally or non-dentally) 
related. 

OPTION:	 No later than 30 days from the effective date of the decision, respondent may 
submit for Board approval a community service program which would be in 
lieu of (number of days) days of suspension. 

9. Patient Notification - Respondent shall notify all current and prospective patients of the 
(inability to perform the dental procedure of ____) (inability to treat [female] [male] [minor] without 
the presence of a third party). Respondent shall submit documentation which provides satisfactory 
evidence of compliance with this term of probation. 

10. Psychiatric/Physical Evaluation - This condition shall be applied, but not limited to, any 
licensee who may be affected by a psychological/physical illness, or who is guilty of gross 
immorality/sexual misconduct and/or a substantially related conviction.  This evaluation may be 
ordered and the results evaluated prior to allowing practice by the respondent. 

Model Language 
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Psychiatric Evaluation - Within 60 days of the effective date of this decision, and on a 
periodic basis thereafter as required by the Board or its designee, respondent shall 
undergo a psychiatric evaluation by a licensed psychiatrist (appointed or approved) by the 
Board. Such evaluator shall furnish a written report to the Board or its designee regarding 
respondent's judgment and ability to independently and safely practice dentistry and such 
other information as the Board may require. The cost of such evaluation shall be borne by 
respondent. Respondent shall execute a Release of Information form authorizing the 
evaluator to release all information to the Board. Respondent shall comply with the 
recommendations of the evaluator. This evaluation shall be treated as confidential by the 
Board and is not subject to discovery. (If appropriate, respondent shall not practice until 
notified by the Board of the determination that respondent is fit to safely practice dentistry.) 

If there is a need for ongoing psychiatric treatment respondent shall within 30 days of the 
requirement notice, submit to the Board for it prior approval the name and qualifications of 
a psychotherapist of respondent’s choice.  Respondent shall undergo and continue 
psychotherapy until further notice from the Board or its designee.  Respondent shall have 
the treating psychotherapist submit quarterly status reports to the Board or its designee 
indicating whether the respondent is capable of practicing dentistry safely. 

OPTION:	 Respondent shall not engage in the practice of dentistry until notified by the 
Board or its designee of its determination that respondent is mentally fit to 
practice safely. 

NOTE:	 This condition shall not apply if it is clear at the hearing that 
psychotherapy is a necessary condition of probation. 

11. Psychotherapy - Where it has been determined at the hearing that psychotherapy is 
warranted, a treatment program requiring prior Board approval shall be instituted.  The treatment 
program should identify the proposed therapist(s), duration of treatment, and results of treatment 
prior to termination to enable the Board to adequately assess the mental condition of the 
respondent. 

Model Language 

Psychotherapy - Within 60 days of the effective date of this decision, or within 60 days of a 
determination that psychotherapy is required, respondent shall submit a proposed therapist 
and plan of therapy to be approved by the Board.  The cost of therapy shall be borne by 
respondent. The plan of therapy shall include the nature of the treatment and its proposed 
duration. The psychotherapist shall agree to submit quarterly reports to the Board 
regarding the progress and participation of respondent.  The treatment program shall not 
be terminated except upon Board approval after submission of the results of the program 
by the psychotherapist. 

12.	 Diversion - Where it has been determined that a treatment program relating to drug or 
alcohol impairment is warranted, this condition of probation should be imposed.  This 
condition is to be imposed when there is a violation of alcohol/substance abuse laws and in 
stipulations where there is the probability that the cause of other types of violations was 
chemical dependency. 
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Model Language 

Diversion Program - Within 30 days of the effective date of this Decision, respondent shall 
contact, in writing, the Program Manager of the Board's Diversion Program to schedule an 
assessment and evaluation by the Diversion Evaluation Committee (DEC).  If the DEC 
determines that respondent is not appropriate for the program, this condition of probation 
will have been met. If accepted into the program, respondent shall fully comply with the 
terms and conditions of treatment as prescribed by the DEC.  Any costs incurred will be the 
responsibility of respondent. Failure to successfully complete the DEC treatment program 
shall constitute a violation of probation. 

Biological Fluid Testing - This probation condition will allow the Board to monitor the 
respondent in order to ascertain if he/she is substance and/or chemical free. It is to be 
required when the respondent has violated any alcohol or substance abuse prohibitions. 

Model Language 

Biological Fluid Testing - Respondent shall submit to random biological fluid testing at 
his/her own expense upon the demand of the Board or its designee.  

Abstain from Use of Alcohol/Controlled Substances/Dangerous Drugs - This condition is 
necessary for compliance with any type of rehabilitation program.  This condition is to be 
imposed when there is a violation of alcohol/substance abuse laws and in stipulations 
where there is the probability that the cause of other types of violations were caused by 
alcohol or substance abuse. 

Model Language 

For the entire term of probation respondent shall abstain from all use and possession of 
(alcohol, controlled substances, and dangerous drugs) unless legally prescribed for 
medically or dentally diagnosed health reasons for a bona fide illness or medical/dental 
condition. 

Surrender/Partial Surrender of Drug Enforcement Agency Permit - In cases of substance 
abuse/or violation of statutes regulating the procurement, dispensing or administration of 
controlled substances and dangerous drugs, this condition must be imposed. 

Model Language 

Controlled Substances - Within 60 days of the effective date of this decision, respondent 
shall submit to the Board proof of surrender of respondent's Drug Enforcement Agency 
Permit. Respondent shall not apply for a new permit without prior written approval from the 
Board. 

OR 

13. 

14. 

15. 
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Respondent shall not prescribe, administer, dispense, order, or possess any controlled 
substances as defined by the California Uniform Controlled Substances Act, (except for 
those drugs listed in Schedule(s)_____) of the Act and/or prescribed to respondent for a 
bona fide illness or condition by another practitioner. Respondent’s DEA Permit shall be 
modified to reflect this restriction and proof submitted to the Board of this modification 
within 60 days. 

AND/OR 

Respondent shall maintain a record of all controlled substances prescribed, dispensed or 
administered by respondent during probation, showing all the following;  (1) the name and 
address of the patient, (2) the date, (3) the character and quantity of controlled substances 
involved, and (4) the pathology and purpose for which the controlled substance was 
furnished. 

Respondent shall maintain all records in a separate file or ledger, in chronological order, 
and shall make them available for inspection and copying by the Board or its designee, 
upon request. 

16.	 Ethics - In those cases involving fraud, false advertising, excessive billing, or negligence 
this condition of probation will be imposed and may also be imposed in other cases if 
applicable. 

Model Language 

Ethics  - Within 30 days of the effective date of this decision, respondent shall submit for 
prior Board approval a course in ethics which will be completed within the first year of 
probation. Units obtained for an approved course in ethics shall not be used for continuing 
education units required for renewal of licensure. 
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RECOMMENDED PENALTIES


B&P Refers to Business and Professions Code


Section 123 B&P 	 Subversion of Examinations. 
Section 1680 B&P 	 General Unprofessional Conduct 

Maximum Penalty:	 Revocation of license or Statement of Issues denying admission into 
examination. 

Minimum Penalty:	 Revocation stayed, five years probation, 50 hours of non-dental community 
services, continuing education course in dental ethics, 100 hours of 
community service for each year of probation. 

Section 125.6B&P	 Refusal to Treat Patient 

Maximum Penalty:	 Revocation 

Minimum Penalty:	 Revocation, stayed, three years probation. 

Section 125.9B&P Failure to Comply with Citation 

Maximum Penalty: Revocation 

Minimum Penalty: Revocation, stayed, five years probation, 15 days actual suspension, 
compliance with citation, if applicable. 

Section 480 B&P - Denial of a License (See B&P 1680(w)) 
Section 498 B&P - License Secured by Fraud or Misrepresentation 
Section 1628.7 B&P - Issuance of a Probationary License 

Maximum Penalty:	 Revocation or denial of license. 

Minimum Penalty:	 The license will be issued as a probationary license which would include 
terms set forth in Section 1628.7 as applicable. 

If already a licensee, probation could be applicable depending upon the 
degree of fraud or misrepresentation and its relationship to the practice of 
dentistry. 

Probationary terms may include any or all of the following: 
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1.	 Successfully complete a professional competency examination. 
2.	 Submit to a medical or psychological evaluation. 
3.	 Submit to continuing medical or psychological treatment. 
4.	 Abstain from the use of alcohol or drugs. 
5.	 Submit to random fluid testing for alcohol or controlled 

substance abuse. 
6.	 Submit to continuing participation in a board approved 

rehabilitation program. 
7.	 Restrict the type or circumstances of practice. 
8.	 Submit to continuing education and course work. 
9.	 Comply with requirements regarding notification to employer 

and changes of employment. 
10.	 Comply with probation monitoring. 
11.	 Comply with all laws and regulations governing the practice of 

dentistry. 
12.	 Limit practice to a supervised structured environment in which 

the licensee’s activities shall be supervised by another dentist. 
13.	 Submit to total or partial restrictions on drug prescribing 

privileges. 

Section 490 B&P Conviction of a Crime 
See Section 1670.1 

Section 650 B&P Accepting or Receiving Rebates 
See Section 1680(g) 

Section 650.2(i)B&P Patient Referral Service - Failure to Disclose 

Maximum Penalty:	 Revocation of registration of dental referral service. 

Minimum Penalty:	 Revocation stayed, two (2) years probation.  

Section 651 B&P	 False, Misleading or Deceptive Public Communications 

Penalty:	 See Section 1680(h)-(l) 

Section 654.1B&P	 Prohibits Referral of Patients to Laboratories without Disclosure of Beneficial 
Interest 

Section 654.2B&P	 Prohibits charges, billings, solicitations or referrals without disclosure of 
beneficial interest. 

Maximum Penalty:	 Revocation 
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Minimum Penalty:	 Revocation stayed, two (2) years probation, 50 hours of community service. 

Section 725 B&P Excessive Prescribing or Administration of Drugs 

Penalty: See Section 1680(p) 

Section 726 B&P Sexual Abuse or Misconduct 

Penalty: See Section 1680(e) 

Section 732 B&P Failure to Refund Overpayments to Patients 

Maximum Penalty: Revocation 

Minimum Penalty: Revocation, stayed, five (5) years probation, refund to patient, 50 hours 
dentally related community service. 

Section 810 B&P	 Insurance Fraud 

Penalty:	 See Section 1680(a) 

Section 822 B&P -	 Psychological/Physical Illness 

Maximum Penalty:	 Revocation 

Minimum Penalty:	 Revocation, stayed, standard conditions, indefinite probation, comply with 
recommendation of examining psychiatrist.  May include actual suspension, 
or limited practice or practicing under a supervised setting. 

Section 1611.5B&P Inspection of Books, Records, and Premises 

Maximum Penalty: Revocation 

Minimum Penalty: Revocation, stayed, three (3) years probation and compliance. 

Section 1628. B&P Denial of Application to Take Examination or Licensure 
Section 1628.7B&P Issuance of a Probationary License 

Maximum Penalty:	 Denial. 
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Minimum Penalty:	 The license will be issued as a probationary license which would include 
terms set forth in Section 1628.7 as applicable. 

NOTE:	 The Board has the authority to issue a probationary license after successful 
examination pursuant to 1628.7. The probationary terms may include, but are 
not limited to the following: 

1.	 Successfully complete a professional competency examination. 
2.	 Submit to a medical or psychological evaluation. 
3.	 Submit to continuing medical or psychological treatment. 
4.	 Abstain from the use of alcohol or drugs. 
5.	 Submit to random fluid testing for alcohol or controlled 

substance abuse. 
6.	 Submit to continuing participation in a board approved 

rehabilitation program. 
7.	 Restrict the type or circumstances of practice. 
8.	 Submit to continuing education and course work. 
9.	 Comply with requirements regarding notification to employer 

and changes of employment. 
10.	 Comply with probation monitoring. 
11.	 Comply with all laws and regulations governing the practice of 

dentistry. 
12.	 Limit practice to a supervised structured environment in which 

the licensee’s activities shall be supervised by another dentist. 
13.	 Submit to total or partial restrictions on drug prescribing 

privileges. 

Section 1645 B&P Continuing Education Violations 
(Section 1680(n)B&P) 

Maximum Penalty:	 Revocation 

Minimum Penalty:	 Stayed revocation, five (5) years probation, 30 days actual suspension, 
compliance within one (1) year, and community service where appropriate. 

Section 1646.1B&P Administration of General Anesthesia (GA) Without a Permit/Failure to Renew 
a Permit 

Section 1647.2B&P Administration of Conscious Sedation Without a Permit/Failure to Renew a 
Permit 

Maximum Penalty:	 Revocation of Licensure and/or Denial of Permit 
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Minimum Penalty:	 Stayed revocation, five years probation, 60 days actual suspension if 
practicing without ever having been issued a permit. Must apply for GA 
permit if sedation privileges are to continue. 

Section 1650B&P Duty to Register Place of Practice 
Section 1658 B&P Additional Office 
(Section 1680(n) B&P) 

Maximum Penalty:	 Revocation 

Minimum Penalty:	 Reprimand with $250 fine. 

Section 1670 B&P	 Gross Negligence, Gross Incompetence, Repeated Acts of Negligence 

Maximum Penalty:	 Revocation 

Minimum Penalty:	 Stayed revocation, five (5) years probation, plus 30 days actual suspension and 
restitution where appropriate. Options and additions where appropriate:  (1) 
restriction of the scope of practice; (2) work only in a supervised environment; 
and (3) remedial education, with or without successful re-examination which is 
tailored to the specific area of incompetence or negligence; (4) take and pass an 
examination which may include the Board’s licensure examination-clinical 
and/or written. If unsuccessful in examination, must cease the practice of 
dentistry and may not resume the practice of dentistry until successful in the 
examination. 

Section 1670 B&P	 Battery upon a Patient (General Unprofessional Conduct) 

Maximum Penalty:	 Revocation 

Minimum Penalty:	 Stayed revocation, seven (7) years probation, 30 days actual suspension, 
standard conditions. Psychiatric examination and treatment if necessary. 
Supervised structured environment, and community service. 

Section 1670 B&P	 License Issued by Mistake 

Penalty:	 Revocation 

Section 1670.1 B&P Conviction of a Crime
 (Section 490 B&P) 

Maximum Penalty:	 Revocation 

Minimum Penalty:	 Stayed revocation, five (5) years probation with terms and conditions depending 
upon the nature of the criminal offense.  Comply with any criminal probation. 
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Section 1680(a) B&P Obtaining Any Fee by Fraud or Misrepresentation 
Section 810 B&P Insurance Fraud 

Maximum Penalty:	 Revocation 

Minimum Penalty:	 Stayed revocation, five (5) years probation, plus 30 days actual suspension, 
restitution and community service program. 

Section 1680(b) B&P Employment of Suspended or Unlicensed Dentist 

Section 1680(c) B&P Aiding or Abetting Unlicensed Practice 

Section 1680(d) B&P Aiding or Abetting Licensed Person to Practice Dentistry Unlawfully 

Maximum Penalty:	 Revocation 

Minimum Penalty:	 Stayed six-month suspension, five (5) years probation, 45 days actual 
suspension. Optional conditions can include restitution to patients, and 
community service program. These optional conditions are predicated upon the 
possibility of harm to the patient which was caused by the actions of the 
respondent. 

Section 1680(e) B&P Gross Immorality 
(Section 726 B&P) 

Maximum Penalty:	 Revocation 

Minimum Penalty:	 Stayed revocation, seven (7) years probation, 60 days suspension. (If indicated, 
respondent shall not treat minor patients or other members of the patient 
population.) Conditions of probation shall include psychiatric evaluation and 
treatment, and/or counseling program, semiannual psychotherapy reports 
submitted to the Board and the necessity of having an auxiliary present while 
treating patients where appropriate. The psychiatrist or psychologist rendering 
treatment must be approved by the Board.  Options might include restricted 
practice setting. If the violation involved sexual misconduct with a minor, 
probation shall remain in effect until proof of complete rehabilitation is 
demonstrated. 

Section 1680(f) B&P Use of False or Fictitious Names 

Maximum Penalty:	 Revocation 

Minimum Penalty:	 Stayed revocation, 15 days suspension, two (2) years probation with the 
requirement of corrective advertising as appropriate where the use of the name 
involved substantial deception of the public related to the practice of dentistry. 
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Section 1680(g) B&P Accepting or Receiving Rebates 
(Section 650 B&P) 

Maximum Penalty:	 Revocation 

Minimum Penalty:	 Stayed revocation, 30 days suspension, five (5) years probation and at least 50 
hours of community service if the unlawful practice was extensive. 

Section 1680(h) B&P Use of Deceptive or Misleading Advertising Statements 

Section 1680(I) B&P Advertising of Professional Superiority 

Section 1680(j) B&P Employing or Making use of Solicitors 

Section 1680(k) B&P Any Advertising which Violates Section 651 of the Business and 
Professions Code 

Section 1680(l) B&P Advertising to Guarantee Any Dental Service or to Perform Dental 
Operations Painlessly 

(Section 651 B&P) 

Maximum Penalty: Revocation 

Minimum Penalty: Stayed revocation, three (3) years probation with corrective advertising as 
appropriate, and 100 hours of community services. 

Section 1680(m) B&P	 Violation of any Law Regulating the Dispensing or Administration of 
Dangerous Drugs or Controlled Substances 

Maximum Penalty:	 Revocation 

Minimum Penalty:	 Stayed revocation, five (5) years probation, 60 days actual suspension and loss 
of DEA permit (complete or partial). Also, where appropriate, community service 
and working within a supervised setting. 

Section 1680(o) B&P Radiation Safety 

Maximum Penalty: Revocation 

Minimum Penalty: Reprimand, compliance within 30 days, where appropriate, suspension until the 
condition is corrected. 

Section 1680(p) B&P	 Clearly Excessive Prescribing or Treatment 
(Section 725 B&P) 
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Maximum Penalty:	 Revocation 

Minimum Penalty:	 Revocation stayed, five (5) years probation and restitution in those cases which 
result in economic harm to the patient. In those cases which additionally result in 
actual or potential future physical harm to the patient, there should be restitution, 
five (5) years of probation and 45 days of actual suspension and restriction or 
elimination of prescribing privileges, if applicable. 

Section 1680(q) B&P Use of Threats or Harassment 
Section 1680(r) B&P Suspension or Revocation by Another State 

Maximum Penalty:	 Revocation 

Minimum Penalty:	 Stayed revocation five (5) years probation, standard conditions.  Impose similar 
conditions as indicated by other state. 

Section 1680(s) B&P Alteration of Patient Records 

Maximum Penalty:	 Revocation 

Minimum Penalty:	 Revocation, stayed, five (5) years probation, 30 days actual suspension, and 
correction of the condition. In appropriate cases, the suspension should be 
extended until the condition is corrected. 

Section 1680(u)B&P Abandonment of Patient 

Maximum Penalty:	 Revocation 

Minimum Penalty:	 Revocation stayed, five (5) years of probation, 15 days actual suspension, 
restitution where appropriate and community service where feasible. 

Section 1680(v) B&P Misrepresenting the Facts Regarding Disciplinary Action 

Maximum Penalty:	 Revocation 

Minimum Penalty:	 If any period of suspension was levied in the original disciplinary action, that 
period of suspension should be doubled. 

Section 1680(w) B&P Fraud in the Procurement of Any License
 Section 1680(x) B&P Actions which would Warrant Denial of a License 



19 

Maximum Penalty:	 Revocation 

Minimum Penalty:	 Revocation stayed, one (1) year suspension.  This penalty is only to be given if 
the dentist is otherwise qualified to practice in the State of California. 

Section 1680(y) B&P Aiding or Abetting Negligent or Incompetent Practice 

Maximum Penalty:	 Revocation 

Minimum Penalty:	 Stayed revocation, five (5) years probation, plus 30 days actual suspension and 
restitution (where appropriate). Options and additions, where appropriate:  (1) 
restriction of the scope of practice; (2) work only in a supervised environment; 
and (3) remedial education with or without successful re-examination which is 
tailored to the specific area of incompetence or negligence. 

Section 1680(z) B&P Failure to Report Patient Death 

Maximum Penalty: Revocation 

Minimum Penalty: Stayed revocation, five (5) years probation, 30 days actual suspension. 

Section 1680(aa)B&P Violation of Business and Professions Code, Section 650.2 

Maximum Penalty:	 Revocation. 

Minimum Penalty:	 Revocation, stayed, two (2) years probation, six (6) months suspension from 
advertising through referral services, complete a course in ethics and 50 hours 
of community service. 

Section 1680(bb)B&P Failure to use a Fail-Safe Machine 

Maximum Penalty: Revocation 

Minimum Penalty: Stayed revocation, five years probation and 30 days actual suspension and 
requirement to obtain and use correct machine. 

Section 1680(cc) Engaging in Practice of Dentistry with an Expired License 

Maximum Penalty: Revocation 
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Minimum Penalty:	 Stayed revocation, three (3) years probation with requirement for completion of 
the deficient continuing education units within 90 days, if applicable, and 
community service. 

Section 1680(dd)	 Safe and Sanitary Conditions 

Maximum Penalty:	 Revocation 

Minimum Penalty:	 Revocation, stayed, three (3)  years probation, 30 days actual suspension, proof 
of correction of the condition. 

Section 1680(ee)	 The Use of Auxiliaries Beyond the Scope of the License 

Maximum Penalty:	 Revocation 

Minimum Penalty: 	 Revocation, stayed, five (5) years probation, 30 days actual suspension. 

Section 1681 B&P Possession of or Abuse of Controlled Substances, Alcohol or Controlled 
(Section 1700(e)) Substances/Alcohol Conviction 

Maximum Penalty:	 Revocation 

Minimum Penalty:	 Stayed revocation, five (5) years probation, 30 days actual suspension, and loss 
of DEA permit (complete or partial), and/or maintain a controlled substance log, 
and psychotherapeutic treatment or counseling program with psychotherapist to 
be approved by the Board. Shall immediately submit to biological testing, at 
respondent's cost. Abstain from the use of alcoholic beverages and/or 
controlled substances. Also, where appropriate, a dentist should be restricted to 
working in a supervised setting. Dentist may also be required to participate in 
the Board's Drug Diversion Program if determined appropriate by the Board's 
Diversion Evaluation Committee. 

Section 1682 B&P Patients Undergoing Conscious Sedation or General Anesthesia 

Maximum Penalty: Revocation 

Minimum Penalty: Revocation stayed, five (5) years probation, 30 days actual suspension.  Option 
where appropriate, can be the restriction of scope of practice. 

Section 1683 B&P Treatment Entries in Patient Records 

Maximum Penalty: Revocation 

Minimum Penalty: Revocation stayed, three (3) years probation, correction of condition. 
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Section 1684 Service Beyond the Scope of License 
See Section 1670 B&P 

Section 1685 B&P	 Permitting Dental Care that Discourages Necessary or Encourages Excessive or 
Improper Treatment 

Maximum Penalty:	 Revocation 

Minimum Penalty:	 Revocation stayed, five (5) years probation and restitution in those cases which 
result in economic harm to the patient. Thirty days (30) actual suspension and, 
where appropriate, remedial education with or without successful re-examination 
tailored to the specific area of incompetence or negligence. 

Section 1700(e)	 Practicing while Under the Influence of Alcohol or a Controlled Substance 

See Section 1681. 

Section 1701.5B&P Fictitious Name Permit 
(Section 1680(n)B&P) 

Maximum Penalty:	 Revocation 

Minimum Penalty:	 Stayed revocation, 15 days suspension, two (2) years probation with the 
requirement of corrective advertising as appropriate where the use of the name 
involved substantial deception of the public related to the practice of dentistry. 

Violation of Probation 

Maximum Penalty: Revoke probation and impose stayed penalty. 

Minimum Penalty: Extend probation with appropriate new conditions. 


