DENTAL ASSISTING PROGRAM APPLICATION

Check One: Post Mark:

Type: []RDA License [ ]RDAEF License []DSA Permit []OA Permit LlAct  [linact [1Srvy

BETATE OF CALIFORNIA BUSINESS, COMNSUMER SERVICES, AND HOUSING AGENCY OVERNOR EDMUND G. BROWN JR

|
u [ = I | DENTAL BOARD OF CALIFORNIA
| 2005 Evergreen Street, Suite 1550, Sacramento, CA 95815
DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS P (916) 263-2300 F (916) 263-2140 | www.dbc.ca.gov

for RENEWAL of a LICENSE or PERMIT S——

Amount Revd: $

OFp [Oconv [JY-Conv

The renewal fee is $70.00 per each type. If renewal application and fee is not postmarked Ocp O XrRY JPES
within 30 days of license or permit expiration date, the fee will be $105.00, per each type.
If you have more than one license or permit with the Dental Board, a separate renewal application and fee must be submitted for each
license or permit.

Make your check or money order payable to the Dental Board of California and mail the renewal application(s) with payment to the
address provided above.

License/Permit #: Amount Enclosed:

Full Name:

5 Middie Cast

Is the above a name change? [0 Yes [INo If yes, please provide your previous name below. In addition, you MUST provide documentation supporting the name change
with this application: i.e., copy of marriage certificate, divorce decree or court order.

Previous Name:

rs Middle Cast

Address:

Teel City State Zip Code

Is the above an address change? [dYes [INo If yes, please provide your previous address below:

Previous Address:

Street City State Zip Code

Phone:

Home Phone (Include area code): Work Phone (Include area code):

Iltems 1 — 4 below are required and must be completed; Failure to complete items 1 — 4 will cause a delay in the renewal process:

1. |:| ACTIVE Renewal — | have successfully completed at least 25 hours of continuing education (CE) during the last two years,
including a course in Basic Life Support, 2 hours of California Infection Control and 2 hours of Dental Practice Act.
Business and Professions Code Section 1752.6 states in part that “A registered dental assistant licensed on and after January 1, 2010, shall
provide evidence of successful completion of a board-approved course in the application of pit and fissure sealants prior to the first expiration
date of his or her license that requires the completion of continuing education as a condition of renewal”. If applicable, attached evidence
of completion with your application for renewal.
|:| INACTIVE Renewal - | understand that it is unlawful to practice with an inactive license. If | wish to practice, | must first
obtain 25 CE units, and reactivate my license.
|:| FIRST TIME Renewal - | certify that this is my first renewal and | am not required to have CE Units
2. Since you last renewed your license, have you had any license disciplined by a government agency or other disciplinary body; or, have you been
convicted of any crime in any state, the USA and its territories, military court or foreign country?
[l YES [1] NO
3. | have furnished a full set of fingerprints to the Department of Justice as required by Title 16, California Code of Regulations Section 1008.
Fingerprinting for the Board is only required once. However, you must answer "yes" on EVERY renewal application, acknowledging you have
furnished a full set of fingerprints.
[1 YEs [1] NO
4. | declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct.

Signature: Date:

IMPORTANT: The DENTAL HEALTHCARE WORKFORCE SURVEY is part of the renewal application and must be completed and submitted
with your completed renewal application and payment.
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RENEWAL APPLICATION CONTINUED

CONTINUING DENTAL EDUCATION — Read each statement carefully and mark the appropriate answer.

O YEsS [INO | have completed and can document 25 hours of approved continuing education in the last two years.
[dYEs [CINO | have completed and can document completion of a course in Basic Life Support by the AHA or ARC.
[dYEs [INO | have completed the mandatory 2 hour course in Infection Control.

O YEsS [NO | have completed the mandatory 2 hour course in California Dental Practice Act.

[dYeEs [CINO | am exempt from continuing education because this is my first renewal.

DENTAL HEALTHCARE WORKFORCE SURVEY

Pursuant to Business and Professions Code section 1715.5, the Dental Board requires completion of sections 1, 2, 3(a) and 3(b) of this survey. The
survey information collected will be publicly available in accordance with state law.

LICENSE NUMBER:

1. LICENSE TYPE 2. EMPLOYMENT STATUS
O DDS O Full-time clinical practice in CA (32+ hours per week)
O RDH O  Full-time clinical outside CA (32+ hours per week)
O RDHEF O Part-time clinical practice in CA (less than 32 hours per week)
O RDHAP O Administrative/Faculty Employment (No Direct Patient Care)
O RDA O Retired
O RDAEF O  Other practice or employment status
3(a). PRIMARY PRACTICE LOCATION ZIP CODE HOURS PER WEEK

If you provide patient care, please indicate the zip code of
your primary practice location (U.S. only) and the number
of hours spent each week at this location.

3(b). SECONDARY PRACTICE LOCATION ZIP CODE HOURS PER WEEK
If you provide patient care in a second location, please
indicate the zip code of that practice location (U.S. Only)
and the number of hours spent each week at this location.

4. POSTGRADUATE TRAINING Indicate the total years of training completed after dental school (accredited by the Committee on Dental
Accreditation in a dental specialty recognized by the American Dental Association)

o1 a2 o3 o4 O5+ 0O None

5. DENTAL PRACTICE/SPECIALTY and BOARD CERTIFICATION or PERMITS mark specialty classifications and Board Certifications:

O General Practice O Endodontics O Oral Radiology O General Anesthesia
O Prosthodontics O Public Health O Pediatric Dentistry O Oral Conscious Sedation
O Maxillofacial O Orthodontics O Periodontics O Conscious Sedation
O Oral Pathology O Facial Cosmetic Surgery
6. ETHNIC BACKGROUND (Optional) Mark all that apply
O African American/Black/African O Caucasian/White/European/Middle Eastern O Decline to State
O American Indian/Native American/Alaskan Native O Other (not listed)
Asian Latino/Hispanic Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander
O Cambodian O Japanese O Thai O Central American O Cuban O Fijian O Samoan
O Chinese O Korean O Vietnamese O South American O Mexican O Filipino O Tongan
O Indian O Laotian/Hmong O Other Asian [ Puerto Rican 0O Other O Guamanian O Other Pacific
O Indonesian O Pakistani Hispanic O Hawaiian Islander
7. FOREIGH LANGUAGE (Optional) In addition to English, indicate additional languages in which you are fluent.
O American Sign O Japanese O Thai O Central American O Punjabi O Thai
Language O French O llocano O Mandarin O Russian O Turkish
O Arabic O German O Italian O Mien O Samoan 0O Vietnamese
O Armenian O Hebrew O Japanese O Polish O Spanish O Decline to State
O Cambodian O Hindi O Korean O Portuguese O Tagalog O Other
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LICENSE RENEWAL INFORMATION

IT IS A CRIMINAL OFFENSE TO PERFORM LICENSED AND/OR PERMITTED DUTIES WITH AN EXPIRED, CANCELLED, OR INACTIVE
LICENSE!

Your first renewal may not be valid for a full two years. Your expiration date is based on your birth month and birth year. If you were born in an
even year, your license/permit will expire in an even year. If you were born in an odd year, your license/permit will expire in an odd year. From
the issuance of your license/permit, your first license/permit will expire on the last day of your birth month, in the first odd or even year
corresponding with your birth year.

After your first renewal, your license/permit will expire every two years on the last day of your birth month, either in an odd or even numbered year
(as based on the year of your birth). For example, if your birthday is June 14, 1982 (an even year) your license will expire on June 30, 2014, June
30, 2016, etc. However, if your birthday is June 14, 1983 (an odd year), your license/permit will expire on June30, 2013, June 30, 2015, etc.

PIT AND FISSURE SEALANT COURSE — Pursuant to Business and Professions Code Section 1752.6 stating in part that “A registered dental
assistant licensed on and after January 1, 2010, shall provide evidence of successful completion of a board-approved course in the application of
pit and fissure sealants prior to the first expiration date of his or her license that requires the completion of continuing education as a
condition of renewal”.

RENEWAL REQUIREMENTS FOR AN “ACTIVE RENEWAL" — A licensee/permittee must pay the biennial renewal fee and comply with the
continuing education requirements in order to maintain an active license.

INACTIVE LICENSE STATUS — A licensee/permittee can place his or her license on inactive status at time of renewal. This means that he or she
must pay the renewal fee, but is not required to complete the required continuing education requirements. A license can be renewed to inactive
status, every two years, indefinitely. To place an active license/permit on inactive status at any time during the renewal cycle, you must complete
the Inactive/Active Form. To activate an inactive license/permit at any time during the renewal cycle, you must complete the Inactive/Active Form
and attach copies of all continuing education certificates taken within 2 years of the request to activate the license/permit, return the actual green
inactive license, and attach the $25 fee to print the new active license/permit.

CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS - Licensees/permittees renewing for the first time are exempt from CE requirements. The minimum
requirement for each renewal period after the first renewal is 25 hours of continuing education, including:
®  Basic Life Support (maximum credit allowed is 4 CE units)
= Shall be met by completion of an American Heart Association or American Red Cross Course in Basic Life Support, or a BLS course
taught by a provider approved by the American Dental Association’s Continuing Education Recognition Program or the Academy of
General Dentistry’s Program Approval for Continuing Education.
. Online CPR course will not be accepted for Basic Life Support requirement.
® 2 hours of California Infection Control

(] 2 hours of California Dental Practice Act

Note: Infection Control and California Dental Practice Act may be taken online by an approved provider. No more than 12.5 CE hours can be
completed through home study or other non-live instruction. Interactive courses such as live videoconferencing, live lecture and live workshop
demonstrations may be used for all of the required units except for Basic Life Support course.

EXPIRED AND CANCELLED LICENSES — A license/permit that has been expired for more than five years is automatically cancelled, and cannot
be renewed. The holder of a cancelled certificate must either apply for a new license/permit, and pass the associated examination(s), or petition the
Dental Board. To begin the process of the issuance of a new license/permit to replace a cancelled license, contact the Board via email at
DAProgram@dca.ca.gov. In the email, please include your name, license number, current address, and phone number.

CONVICTION AND DISCIPLINE INTRUCTIONS — Check the box next to “YES” if, since your last renewal, you have had any license disciplined by
a government agency or have you been convicted or plead quilty to any crime. “Conviction” includes a plea of no contest and any conviction that
has been set aside or deferred pursuant to Sections 1000 or 1203.4 of the Penal Code, including infractions, misdemeanor, and felonies. You do
not need to report a conviction for an infraction with a fine of less than $1000 unless the infraction involved alchohol or controlled substances. You
must, however, disclose any convictions in which you entered a plea of no contest and any convictions that were subsequently set aside pursuant
or deferred pursuant to sections 1000 or 1203.4 of the Penal Code. “License” includes permits, registrations and certificates. “Discipline” includes,
but is not limited to, suspension, revocation, voluntary surrender, probation, or any other restriction.Check the box next to “NO” if since your last
renewal you have not had a license disciplined by another government agency and you have not been convicted of a crime.

FINGERPRINT REQUIREMENT - For a license that expires after July 1, 2011, as a condition of renewal of license, a licensee who was initially
licensed prior to January 1, 1999, or for whom an electronic record of the submission of fingerprints does not exist, shall furnish to the Department
of Justice a full set of fingerprints for the purpose of conducting a criminal history record check and to undergo a state and federal level criminal
offender record information search conducted through the Department of Justice. Failure to comply with the requirements of this section renders
any renewal incomplete and the license will not be renewed until the licensee demonstrates compliance with all requirements. Failure to furnish a
full set of fingerprints to the Department of Justice as required by this section on or before the dated required for renewal of a license is grounds for
discipline by the Board. Licensees who are required to provide fingerprints are notified in a separate letter from the Board. Note: Fingerprinting
for the Board is only required once. However, you must answer "yes" on EVERY renewal application, acknowledging you have furnished
a full set of fingerprints.

DENTAL HEALTHCARE WORKFORCE SURVEY - Pursuant to Business and Professions Code Section 1715.5, the Dental Board of California
requires completion of section 1, 2, and 3(a) and (b) of this survey for the renewal of your license. Information collected shall be aggregated on an
annual basis, based on categories utilized by the Dental Board in the collection of the date both statewide totals and Zip Code of primary practice or
employment location totals. This information shall be collected and reported on the internet web site of the Dental Board as appropriate, on or
before July 1 of each year.
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http://www.dbc.ca.gov/licensees/rda/rda_cont_ed.shtml
http://www.dbc.ca.gov/licensees/dds/cont_ed_web.shtml
http://www.dbc.ca.gov/formspubs/app_rda_activate.pdf
http://www.dbc.ca.gov/formspubs/app_rda_activate.pdf
http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/cgi-bin/displaycode?section=bpc&group=01001-02000&file=1740-1777
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