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APPLICATION FOR RDA EXAMINATION AND LICENSURE

(QUALIFICATION THROUGH SATISFACTORY WORK EXPERIENCE)
Individuals that have not graduated from a board-approved RDA educational program but have completed
“satisfactory work experience” in dental assisting duties may use this application to apply for RDA licensure.
“Satisfactory work experience” includes credit for graduation from a postsecondary educational institution
approved by the Department of Education or other authorized educational provider. Please read the instructions
before completing this application.

Non-Refundable Fees For Office Use Only For Office Use Only
Application: $20 Rec # Date Received
Practical Examination: $60
Non-Live Scan Fingerprint Fee Paid:

Cards: $51
(Out-of-State applicants only) [Date
A written examination fee will  JCashiered:
be required to be paid directly
to PSI at a later date. ATS #
For Office Use Only
Reviewed By: _ QM: Cycle: School Code:
IC CDPA CPR/BLS P/F X-Ray CP
(Please print or type)
1. Social Security Number 2. Birth Date (MM/DD/YYYY)
3. Legal Name: Last First Middle

4. List any other names used:

5. Mailing Address (The address you enter is public information and will be placed on the Internet
pursuant to B & P Code 27):

6. Alternate Address (If you do not want your home or work address available to the public, provide an
alternate address):

7. Home Telephone (Include area code): 8. Work Telephone
(Include area code):

9. Preferred Examination

L L Los Angeles San Francisco Month of Exam
ocation:

10. Have you been licensed to practice dental assisting, dental hygiene, dentistry or any other health care
profession in any state or foreign country?
Yes I:l

NOD

Type of Practice: License Number: |State/Country:




11. To qualify by work experience, you must have obtained at least 15 months of experience as a dental assistant in
California or another state (BPC § 1752.1). Sections | and Il below must be completed and certified by a dentist licensed
in the United States by whom you were or are employed. If you worked for more than one employer, please have each
employer complete a separate form. This page may be photocopied.

If a portion of the work experience requirement was accomplished by graduating from a dental assisting program in a
postsecondary institution approved by the Department of Education, or in a secondary institution, regional occupational
center, or regional occupational program not approved by the Board, verification of such must be certified using Section
Il on page 3 as well as the information below.

Section I:

Name of Certifying Licensed Dentist:

Address/City/State/Zip:

Business Telephone:

DECLARATION OF CERTIFYING DENTIST

I declare that was employed by me as a dental assistant working

hours per week from to (MM/DD/YYYY).

| certify that the experience obtained by the applicant while in my employ was comprised of performing duties specified
in Business and Professions Code Section 1750.1 (see page 11 for the allowable duties) in a competent manner.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the above is true and correct.

Signature of Certifying Dentist

Date Signed

State in Which Dentist is Licensed

Dentist’s License No.

Section IlI:

Candidates for the RDA examination applying via the work experience pathway must submit evidence of having
completed the following Board-approved courses: (check all requirements completed)

Radiation Safety Coronal Polishing Infection Control Cal Dental Practice | CPR - Basic Life
(32-hour course) (16-hour course) (8-hour course) Act Support
(2 hour course) (AHA/ARC)

Evidence of completion shall be submitted with the application.
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12. Applicants that have graduated from a dental assisting program in a postsecondary institution approved by the
Department of Education, or in a secondary institution, regional occupational center, or regional occupational program
not approved by the Board will be given credit toward the work experience requirement on a week-for-week basis for
classroom training and internship. The educational program must complete the declaration below:

Section Ill:

Name of Educational
Institution:

School Street
Address:

City/Zip:

Name of Dean or
Program Director:

|:| Postsecondary institution approved by the Department of Education

Type of Educational |:| Secondary institution
Program (Check the |:| Regional Occupational Center
applicable box) |:| Regional Occupational Program

| HEREBY CERTIFY that | personally reviewed this educational program’s records and according to this

program’s records, student enrolled in the above-named
dental assisting program on day of , 20 and attended

months or weeks and completed hours.

|:| The student was issued a certificate of course completion on (MM/DD/YYYY).

I hereby declare under penalty of perjury of the laws of the State of California that the information that | have provided in
Section Ill above is true and correct.

SIGNATURE OF DEAN OR AUTHORIZED OFFICIAL Title

Date Signed School Seal
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13. Have you ever had any disciplinary action taken or charges filed against your [ ] Yes
dental license or other health related license by a government agency? [] No
“License” includes permits, registrations, and certificates. Include any disciplinary actions taken by this agency,
any other state agency, any U.S. territory, the U.S. Military, U.S. Public Health Service or other U.S. federal
governmental entity. Disciplinary action includes, but is not limited to, suspension, revocation, probation,
confidential discipline, consent order, letter of reprimand or warning, or any other restriction or action taken
against a dental or health-related license that was issued to you.

If the answer is “yes,” provide the section of law violated, the nature of the violation, the location and date of
the violation, and the penalty or disposition on a separate sheet and include with this application.

14. Have you ever had an application for a dental or other health-related license [ ] Yes
denied in this state or any other state? [] No
If “yes,” provide a detailed explanation of the circumstances surrounding the denial, including the date of the
denial, type of application, and the basis for the denial. Include a copy
of any document(s) you received from the agency denying your application(s).

15. Have you ever surrendered a dental license, either voluntarily or otherwise? |:| Yes

[] No
If yes, provide a detailed explanation of the circumstances, including the date of the surrender, the reason for
the surrender and a copy of all documents relating to the surrender.

16. Check the box next to “YES” if you have been convicted of L] vYes
any crime in any state, the USA and its territories, military court, or foreign country. [] No

“Conviction” includes a plea of no contest and any conviction that has been set aside or deferred pursuant to
Sections 1000 or 1203.4 of the Penal Code, including infractions, misdemeanors, and felonies. If the answer is
“Yes,” provide the section of law violated, the nature of the conviction, the court location and date of the
conviction, and the penalty or disposition on a separate sheet and include with this application.

You do not need to report traffic infractions with a fine of less than $1,000 unless the infraction involved alcohol
or controlled substances. You must, however, disclose any convictions in which you entered a plea of no contest
and any convictions that were subsequently set aside or deferred pursuant to Sections 1000 or 1203.4 of the
Penal Code.

If you answer “Yes,” providing the following information will assist in the processing of your application:

1) certified copies of the arresting agency report; 2) certified copies of court documents; and 3) a descriptive
explanation of the circumstances surrounding the conviction (i.e., dates and location of the incident(s) and all
circumstances surrounding the incident(s)). If documents were purged by the arresting agency or court, a letter
of explanation from these agencies is required to complete the processing of your application.

Check the box next to “No” if you have not been convicted of a crime.

FAILURE TO DISCLOSE A DISCIPLINARY ACTION OR CONVICTION MAY RESULT IN THE LICENSE BEING DENIED OR
REVOKED FOR DISHONESTY OR FRAUD IN THE PROCUREMENT OF A LICENSE.
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17. EXECUTION OF APPLICATION

| am the applicant for examination for licensure referred to above. | have read the questions in the foregoing
application and have answered them truthfully, fully and completely.

| certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct.

Signed in on the of , 20
(City/State) (Day) (Month) (Yr)

(Signature of Applicant)

INFORMATION COLLECTION AND ACCESS

The information requested herein is mandatory and is maintained by the Executive Officer, Dental Board of California,
2005 Evergreen Street, Suite 1550, Sacramento, CA 95815, 916-263-2300, in accordance with Business & Professions
Code, §1600 et seq. Except for Social Security numbers, the information requested will be used to determine eligibility
for licensure pursuant to Business and Professions Code sections 1752.1 and 1752.3, issue and renew licenses, and
enforce licensing standards set by law and regulation. Failure to provide all or any part of the requested information
will result in the rejection of the application as incomplete. Disclosure of your Social Security number is mandatory and
collection is authorized by §30 of the Business & Professions Code and Pub. L 94-455 (42 U.S.C.A. §405(c)(2)(C)). Your
Social Security number will be used exclusively for tax enforcement purposes, for compliance with any judgment or
order for family support in accordance with Section 17520 of the Family Code, or for verification of licensure or
examination status by a licensing or examination board, and where licensing is reciprocal with the requesting state. If
you fail to disclose your Social Security number, you may be reported to the Franchise Tax Board and be assessed a
penalty of $100. The official responsible for information maintenance is the Executive Officer (916) 263-2300, 2005
Evergreen Street, Suite 1550, Sacramento, California 95815. Each individual has the right to review the personal
information maintained by the agency unless the records are exempt from disclosure. We make every effort to protect
the personal information you provide us. However, in accordance with Section 27 of the Business and Professions
Code, your name and mailing address listed on this application will be disclosed to the public upon request or through
license verification on the Board’s Web site, if and when you become licensed. Other information you provide may also
be disclosed in the following circumstances: (1) in response to a Public Records Act request (Government Code section
6250 and following), as allowed by the Information Practices Act (Civil Code section 1798 and following); (2) to another
government agency as required by state or federal law; or, (3) in response to a court or administrative order, subpoena
or search warrant.
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REGISTERED DENTAL ASSISTANT EXAMINATION INSTRUCTIONS -
QUALIFICATION THROUGH SATISFACTORY WORK EXPERIENCE

Completed applications containing all required documents and fees must be postmarked by the final filing date.
Applications received after the final filing date may be returned. You must provide a written explanation for all
affirmative answers. Failure to do so will result in this application being deemed incomplete.

Applicants for Registered Dental Assistant licensure in California must pass a practical examination, the RDA written
examination, and a Law and Ethics examination, and undergo a criminal history investigation, prior to receiving a license.
Temporary permits are not issued and licensure in another state or country is not recognized.

GENERAL ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS B&P Code Section 1752.1

To qualify for examination and licensure on or after January 1, 2010, you must either:

A) Be a graduate of a Board-approved Registered Dental Assisting program; OR

B) Complete 15-months satisfactory work experience as a dental assistant for a dentist licensed in the U.S. by the date
of application, and provide written evidence of having completed an 8-hour California Dental Board (Board)-
approved course in Infection Control, a 2-hour Board-approved course in the Dental Practice Act, and a course in
basic life support (CPR) offered by an instructor approved by the American Red Cross or the American Heart
Association.

Applicants who have graduated from a dental assisting program in a postsecondary institution approved by the
Department of Education or in a secondary institution, regional occupational center, or regional occupational program
that is not approved by the board, shall be granted credit toward the 15-months work experience requirement. The

credit shall equal the total weeks spent in classroom training and internship on a week-for-week basis. Verification of
hours completed and used toward the 15-month work experience requirement must be demonstrated and certified on
page 3 of this application by the educational facility.

Make checks payable to the Dental Board of California. Mail applications with payment to:
Dental Board of California

2005 Evergreen Street, Suite 1550

Sacramento, California 95815

FIRST-TIME APPLICANTS

First-time applicants must send the completed Application for RDA Examination and Licensure to the address above,
INCLUDING the fee of $80 ($20 application fee and $60 practical exam fee). You will pay an additional $43 fee for the
RDA written examination and $23 for the Law and Ethics examination when scheduling your test with Psychological
Services Inc. (PSl), the contracted testing agency handling the examinations for the Board. Once you have been
approved to sit for the practical examination, a Candidate Handbook will be mailed to you by PSI with information
regarding how to pay for and when to schedule your written examinations.

If you want verification that your application documents have arrived at the Board offices, a Candidate Application
Postcard is enclosed in this application packet. Address the postcard to yourself, place postage on the card and return
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with your completed application. The card will be used to notify you that the Board has received your application for
the Registered Dental Assistant examination and it is in the process of being evaluated. When you receive the card back
in the mail, it only means that we have received your application, not that you have been accepted or scheduled for an
examination.

FINGERPRINTS, LOCATIONS AND FEES

You are required to submit fingerprints upon initial application. Live Scan is available only in California, for either
residents or visitors, is more efficient than the Ink-on-Cards method, and is required for all California applicants. The
Live Scan form can be downloaded from the Dental Board website at www.dbc.ca.gov. Make sure you print or copy the
form in triplicate (three copies).

The agency data for the Dental Board has been completed on the form for you. Applicants need to provide personal
data on the form and contact the Live Scan location in your area (see authorized Live Scan locations on the website at
http://www.caag.state.ca.us/fingerprints/publications/contact.htm). At your fingerprinting appointment, present three

(3) copies of the form to the Live Scan vendor. Upon completion of the fingerprinting process, the vendor site will retain
one copy and you will receive one copy to submit to the Dental Board as part of this application filing process. The
remaining copy should be retained by you for your records.

Your fingerprints will be scanned electronically, without ink, and transmitted to the California Department of Justice
(DOJ) and the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) for processing. The DOJ will send their report to the Dental Board.
Usually the report is received within seven days. There is a low rate of rejections with the Live Scan method.

The Live Scan service location will require you to pay a fee. Fees vary depending on location and are posted on the
vendor location website indicated above. California applicants using Live Scan are not required to submit the S$51
fingerprint card fee to the Dental Board as part of this application. Your Live Scan fees will be paid separately to the
vendor location at the time of service.

Out-of-State applicants using the Ink-on-Cards method of fingerprinting will be required to submit a $51 fingerprint card

fee to the Board upon submission of this application. Further instructions regarding ink fingerprinting for Out-of-State
applicants can be found later in these instructions.
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FIRST-TIME APPLICANT CHECKLIST FOR WORK EXPERIENCE CANDIDATES

Work Experience Pathway Only:

Work Experience Pathway that includes hours credited

Complete the RDA Examination Application, sign and
date it, with certification of work experience totaling
15-months by the employer (Section | — Page 2)

Complete the RDA Examination Application, sign and date
it, with certification of work experience for a portion of
the 15-month requirement by the employer (Section | —
Page 2)

N/A

Provide certification from non-Board approved

educational program that shows hours completed in a
dental assisting program to be credited toward the 15-
month work experience requirement (Section Ill — Page 3)

Enclose certificates of Board-approved course completion
in the following areas (Section Il — Page 2):

Enclose certificates of Board-approved course
completion in the following areas (Section Il — Page 2):

e Infection Control (8-hours) e Infection Control (8-hours)

e California Dental Practice Act (2-hours) e (California Dental Practice Act (2-hours)

e Basic Life Support — CPR (AHA/ARC) e Basic Life Support — CPR (AHA/ARC)

e Radiation Safety Certificate (32-hours) e Radiation Safety Certificate (32-hours)

e Coronal Polishing Certificate (16-hours) e Coronal Polishing Certificate (16-hours)

e Optional: Pit & Fissure Sealants (must be e Optional: Pit & Fissure Sealants (must be completed
completed by first renewal requiring continuing by first renewal requiring continuing education)
education)

PIT AND FISSURE SEALANT CERTIFICATION

For candidates applying and testing for licensure as a Registered Dental Assisting on or after January 1, 2010, evidence of
pit and fissure sealant certification may either be submitted at the time of application or at the first renewal requiring
continuing education of the RDA license.

Per B&P Code Section 1752.6: A registered dental assistant licensed on and after January 1, 2010, shall provide
evidence of successful completion of a board-approved course in the application of pit and fissure sealants prior to the
first expiration of his or her license that requires the completion of continuing education as a condition of renewal. The
license of a registered dental assistant who does not provide evidence of successful completion of that course shall not
be renewed until evidence of course completion is provided.

OUT-OF-STATE APPLICANTS

Applicants located outside of California must submit two completed fingerprint cards supplied by the Board at the time
of application and an additional fee of $51 for processing of the fingerprint cards (a total fee of $131). You will pay an
additional $43 fee for the RDA written examination and $23 for the Law and Ethics examination when you schedule
your test with Psychological Services Inc. (PSI). Once you have been accepted for the practical examination, a Candidate
Handbook will be mailed to you by PSI with information regarding how to pay for and when to schedule your written
examinations.
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OUT-OF-STATE APPLICANT CHECKLIST

Applicants must show evidence of having successfully completed the following California Dental Board-approved
courses in the following subject areas at the time of application:

e Infection Control (8-hours)

California Dental Practice Act (2-hours)

Basic Life Support — CPR (AHA/RC)

e California Radiation Safety Certificate (32-hours)
e Coronal Polishing Certificate (16-hours)

PREVIOUSLY-QUALIFIED APPLICANTS/RE-EXAMINATION

If, within the last two years, you qualified for and took the written or practical exam and failed, you must submit a
completed Application for Re-Examination for either the written or practical. Do not use this application form for re-

examination.

If it has been more than two years since you last took either exam, you must re-apply for both exams as a first-time
applicant, even if you passed one of the exams in the past. Passing scores are only valid for two years from your last
written or practical exam.

COMPLETING THE APPLICATION

Many applications are rejected because they are incomplete or completed incorrectly - read all of the materials sent to
you and complete ALL parts of the application fully, truthfully, and accurately. You must provide all of the information
requested. Be sure to clearly print or type all data.

All certifications must contain original signatures and be submitted with your application.

Before submission of your application packet, check the following:

v Are checks for all the required fees included in your application packet?

v" Has your employer certified all or a portion of your work experience on Page 2? If you have educational
program credits toward your work experience requirement, has the educational institution certified your
coursework on Page 3?

v" Have you completely answered all questions and signed the application on Page 5?

<

Did you clearly print or type in all the required areas of the application? Check for any missed areas.

v" Have you included all the required certifications? Go through the checklist to make sure you have submitted all
the certificates required for this pathway.

v" Have you self-addressed and stamped the application postcard and included it with your application package?

v" Have you completed the Live Scan fingerprinting form, contacted the vendor and completed the fingerprinting

process prior to submission of this application?

WHAT HAPPENS AFTER APPLICATION?

If you are not qualified, you will be mailed a deficiency letter. If you have not been notified after 4 - 6 weeks from the
filing of your application, you should contact the Board offices.
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If you are qualified, you will be sent notification and a Candidate Handbook from PSI advising you of how to apply for
and schedule your written examinations. Your Candidate Handbook will provide more detailed information about the
content of the exams, important information about the examination process, suggestions for the examination day and
other important testing information.

Approximately 30 days prior to your scheduled practical examination, you will be sent a letter informing you of your
assigned date and time.

SPECIAL ACCOMMODATIONS

If your religious beliefs preclude you from being examined on Saturday or Sunday, you must include a letter to the Board
in the application packet identifying the day on which you cannot take the exam and the reason why.

If you have a disability and require special accommodations, call the Board to request a special accommodations packet.
Completed special accommodation packets MUST be submitted WITH your Application. It is not possible to make
special arrangements for certain applicants to be scheduled together.

GENERAL NATURE OF THE EXAMINATIONS

The Written Exam is a three-hour, computer-based, 155 question multiple-choice exam. It is administered in a

computerized test center at various sites in California. If you qualify and your application is accepted, you will be sent
information about how to register for this exam.

The Practical Exam requires that you acceptably perform three (3) designated procedures to minimum competence on a

typodont. The exam is approximately five (5) hours from start to finish. You will be assigned to either a morning, mid-
day or afternoon session on a Saturday or Sunday, at a location in Northern or Southern California nearest to you.

The Law and Ethics Exam is a one-hour, computer-based, multiple-choice exam. It is administered in a computerized

test center at various sites in California. If you qualify and your application is accepted, you will be sent information
about how to register for this exam.

Once your application has been accepted, you will be sent specific information concerning the content of the
examinations. Be sure to read it carefully.

REFUND OF FEES

Fees are non-refundable. |f your application is rejected for any reason, only the exam fees will be refunded, which will
occur approximately 8-10 weeks after the last exam.

You may withdraw from the exam by sending a written request to the Board. Your request must be received by the
Board 15 business days prior to the first day of the scheduled exam. Only your exam fee will be refunded, not your

application and fingerprint fees. If you do not appear for your assigned examination, all examination fees will be
forfeited and are not refundable. You must reapply for a later exam and pay the required exam fee(s).
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RETURNED CHECK FEE

A $25 fee will be charged for all returned checks.

ALLOWABLE DA AND RDA DUTIES

It is a criminal offense to practice as a registered dental assistant (RDA) without first receiving a license. Therefore, be
sure to become familiar with the duties that the unlicensed dental assistant and the Registered Dental Assistant is
allowed to perform in California, as contained in the following laws and regulations.

AUTHORIZED DUTIES - DENTAL ASSISTANT

(Business & Professions Code §1750)

A dental assistant is an individual who, without a license, may perform basic supportive dental procedures, as authorized
by law and by regulations adopted by the Dental Board, under the supervision of a licensed dentist. "Basic supportive
dental procedures" are those procedures that have technically elementary characteristics, are completely reversible,
and are unlikely to precipitate potentially hazardous conditions for the patient being treated.

GENERAL SUPERVISION DUTIES (DA)

(Business & Professions Code §1750.1(a))

A dental assistant may perform the following duties under the general supervision of a supervising licensed dentist:

1. Extra-oral duties or procedures specified by the supervising licensed dentist provided that these duties or
procedures meet the definition of a basic supportive procedure.

2. Operate dental radiography equipment for the purpose of oral radiography if the dental assistant has completed an
approved radiation safety course or passed a radiation safety exam.

3. Perform intraoral and extraoral photography.

DIRECT SUPERVISION DUTIES (DA)

(Business & Professions Code §1750.1(b))

A dental assistant may perform the following duties under the direct supervision of a supervising licensed dentist:
1. Apply nonaerosol and noncaustic topical agents.

Apply topical fluoride.*

Take intraoral impressions for all non-prosthodontic appliances.

Take facebow transfers and bite registrations.

Place and remove rubber dams or other isolation devices.

Place, wedge, and remove matrices for restorative procedures.

Remove post-extraction dressings after inspection of the surgical site by the supervising licensed dentist.
Perform measurements for the purposes of orthodontic treatment.

© X N U R WN

Cure restorative or orthodontic materials in operative site with a light-curing device.
10. Examine orthodontic appliances.
11. Place and remove orthodontic separators.

! Effective January 1, 2010, when operating in a school-based setting or a public health program created or administered by a
federal, state, county, or local governmental entity pursuant to Sections 104762 and 104830 of the Health and Safety Code, a dental
assistant may apply topical fluoride under the general direction of a licensed dentist or physician. (Bus.&Prof.Code, § 1750.1(c).)
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12.
13.

14.
15.
16.
17.

18.

Remove ligature ties and archwires.

After adjustment by the dentist, examine and seat removable orthodontic appliances and deliver care instructions to
the patient.

Remove periodontal dressings.

Remove sutures after inspection of the site by the dentist.

Place patient monitoring sensors.

Monitor patient sedation, limited to reading and transmitting information from the monitor display during the
intraoperative phase of surgery for electrocardiogram waveform, carbon dioxide and end tidal carbon dioxide
concentrations, respiratory cycle data, continuous noninvasive blood pressure data, or pulse arterial oxygen
saturation measurements, for the purpose of interpretation and evaluation by a supervising licensed dentist who
shall be at the patient's chairside during this procedure.

Assist in the administration of nitrous oxide when used for analgesia or sedation. A dental assistant shall not start
the administration of the gases and shall not adjust the flow of the gases unless instructed to do so by the
supervising licensed dentist who shall be present at the patient's chairside during the implementation of these
instructions.

AUTHORIZED DUTIES - REGISTERED DENTAL ASSISTANT
(Business & Professions Code §1752.4)
A registered dental assistant may perform all of the following duties?:

1.
2.

WX N U RW

11.
12.
13.
14.
15.
16.
17.
18.
19.

All duties that a dental assistant is allowed to perform.

Mouth-mirror inspections of the oral cavity, to include charting of obvious lesions, existing restorations, and missing
teeth.

Apply and activate bleaching agents using a nonlaser light-curing device.

Use of automated caries detection devices and materials to gather information for diagnosis by the dentist.

Obtain intraoral images for computer-aided design (CAD), milled restorations.

Pulp vitality testing and recording of findings.

Place bases, liners, and bonding agents.

Chemically prepare teeth for bonding.

Place, adjust, and finish direct provisional restorations.

. Fabricate, adjust, cement, and remove indirect provisional restorations, including stainless steel crowns when used

as a provisional restoration.

Place post-extraction dressings after inspection of the surgical site by the supervising licensed dentist.
Place periodontal dressings.

Dry endodontically treated canals using absorbent paper points.

Adjust dentures extra-orally.

Remove excess cement from surfaces of teeth with a hand instrument.

Polish coronal surfaces of the teeth.

Place ligature ties and archwires.

Remove orthodontic bands.

All duties that the board may prescribe by regulation.

2 Except as provided in Business and Professions Code section 1777, the supervising dentist determines whether each

procedure is performed under general or direct supervision.
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A registered dental assistant may only perform the following additional duties if he or she has completed a board-

approved registered dental assistant educational program or board-approved course in these duties:

1. Remove excess cement with an ultrasonic scaler from supragingival surfaces of teeth undergoing orthodontic
treatment.

2. The allowable duties of an orthodontic assistant permitholder. A registered dental assistant shall not be required to
complete further instruction in the duties of placing ligature ties and archwires, removing orthodontic bands, and
removing excess cement from tooth surfaces with a hand instrument.

3. The allowable duties of a dental sedation assistant permitholder.

4. The application of pit and fissure sealants.
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BUSINESS, CONSUMER SERVICES, AND HOUSING AGENCY + GOVERNOR EDMUND G. BROWN JR

Dental Board of California

u [_ a 2005 Evergreen Street, Suite 1550, Sacramento, California 95815

DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS P (916) 263'2300 | F (916) 263'2140 | WWdeCC&gOV

BETATE OF CALIFORNIA

REQUEST FOR LIVE SCAN SERVICE
Applicant Submission

ORI: A0023 Type of Application: (check one) [_] Employment]X License, Certification, Permit [_| Volunteer
Code assigned by DOJ
Job Title or Type of License, Certification or Permit: Registered Dental Assistant

Agency Address Set Contributing Agency:

DENTAL BOARD OF CALIFORNIA 06129

Agency authorized to receive criminal history Mail Code (five-digit assigned by DOJ)

2005 Evergreen Street, Suite 1550 EXAMINATION UNIT

Street No. Street or PO Box Contact Name (Mandatory for all school submissions)

Sacramento, CA 95815 (916) 263-2300

City State Contact Telephone No.

Zip Code

Name of Applicant:

(Please Print) Last First Mi

AKA's CDL No.

Last First

DOB: WT: Misc. No. BIL — APPLICANT TO PAY
Agency Billing Number (if applicable)

HT: HAIR color: Home Address: (Applies only if Youth Org/HRA or Public Utility
submission)

POB: Street or PO Box

SOC: City, State and Zip Code

Your Number: RDA

OCA No. (Agency Identifying No.)
Level Of Service DOJX] FBIX
If resubmission, list Original ATI No.

Employer: (Additional response for Department of Social Services, DMV/CHP licensing, and Department of Corporations
submissions only)

Employer Name

Street No. Street or PO Box Mail Code (five digit code assigned by DOJ)
City State Agency Telephone No. (Optional)

Zip Code

Live Scan Transaction Completed By: Date

Name of Operator

Transmitting Agency ATI No. Amount Collected/Billed

BCII 8016 (Rev10/98) ORIGINAL-Live Scan Operator, SECOND COPY-Requesting Agency; THIRD COPY-Applicant
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