State of California Office of Administrative Law

In re:

Dental Board of California

NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF REGULATORY ACTION

Regulatory Action:

Government Code Section 11349.3

Title 16, California Code of Regulations

Adopt sections:

Amend sections: 1021

Repeal sections:

OAL File No. 2014-0110-03 \$

In this regulatory action, the Board is amending section 1021(g) of title 16 of the California Code of Regulations to increase the fees associated with the initial licensure as well as the biennial renewal licensure for dentists. These fees are increased from \$365 to \$450, which is the statutory cap for these categories of fees.

OAL approves this regulatory action pursuant to section 11349.3 of the Government Code. This regulatory action becomes effective on 7/1/2014.

Date: 2/19/2014

Thanh Huynh

Attorney

For: DE

DEBRA M. CORNEZ

Director

Original: Karen Fisher Copy: Sarah Wallace



	2	4	Section Control	CONTRACTOR OF
STATE OF CALIFORNIA-OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIV	/E LAW			

NOTICE PUBLICATION/REGULATIONS SUBMISSION

(See instructions on

STD. 400 (REV. 01-20)13) /	per agency		ieveis	,=,	H THE OFFICE OF
OAL FILE	NOTICE FILE NUMBER	TEQUEREGULATORY ACT	ION NUMBER	EMERGENCY NUMBER		
'NUMBERS	Z-2013-073		110-03, S	10 77 2. 44		2014 FEB 19 PM 2: 09
	'	of use by Office of Admir	1			
			OFF *DMHIST	TICE OF RATIVE LAW		DEBRA BOWEN SECRETARY OF STATE
		• •				•
	NOTICE			EGULATIONS		
AGENCY WITH RU	JLEMAKING AUTHORITY			COLATIONS		AGENCY FILE NUMBER (If any)
	rd of California					
A DUDIE	TION OF NOTICE	(Complete for pub	olication in Notice Re	raictor)	<u>`</u>	
1. SUBJECT OF N		- (Complete for pur	TITLE(S)	GISTER) FIRST SECTION AFFECT	TED .	2. REQUESTED PUBLICATION DATE
i. Subject of i	101102		11122(0)			
3. NOTICE TYPE Notice re Regulator	Proposed Char		NTACT PERSON	TELEPHONE NUMBER		FAX NUMBER (Optional)
OAL USE ONLY	ACTION ON PROPOSED Approved as Submitted	NOTICE Approved as, Modified	Disapproved/, :Withdrawn	NOTICE REGISTER NU	H. J. S. M. C. S. S. A. S. S. S.	PUBLICATION DATE OS-9-13
B. SUBMIS	SION OF REGULA	TIONS (Complete w	hen submitting regu			
1a. SUBJECT OF	REGULATION(S)			1b. ALL PREVIO	US RELATED O	AL REGULATORY ACTION NUMBER(S)
Dentistry Fe	ee Increase					
2. SPECIFY CALIFO	RNIA CODE OF REGULATIONS	FITLE(S) AND SECTION(S) (Including	title 26, if toxics related)			
	(S) AFFECTED	ADOPT				
•	ection number(s)	AMEND				
	ually. Attach sheet if needed.}	1021				•
TITLE(S)		REPEAL				
3. TYPE OF FILING						
Code §113	ulemaking (Gov. 346) tal of disapproved or	below certifies that this ag		Emergency Readop Code, §11346.1(h))	•	Changes Without Regulatory Effect (Cal. Code Regs., title
withdrawn	n nonemergency . Code §§11349.3,	provisions of Gov. Code § before the emergency reg within the time period red	gulation was adopted or	File & Print		1, §100) Print Only
	ty (Gov. Code, b))	Resubmittal of disapprove emergency filing (Gov. Co		Other (Specify)		
N/A.			IS AND/OR MATERIAL ADDED TO THE	RULEMAKING FILE (Cal. Code	Regs. title 1, §44	and Gov. Code §11347.1)
Effective Ja	E OF CHANGES (Gov. Code, §§ anuary 1, April 1, July 1, or (Gov. Code §11343.4(a))	11343.4, 11346.1(d); Cal. Code Regs., Effective on filing Secretary of State	with §100 Changes Wit	hout Effective other (Specif	_{fy)} July 1, 2	014
			ONSULTATION, APPROVAL OR		HER AGENCY	
	ent of Finance (Form STD.		nin Bron	ctices Commission		State Fire Marshal
7. CONTACT PE		wn, Director, Departm	nent of Consumer Affa	FAX NUMBER (Optional	E-MAIL ADDRESS (Optional)
Sarah Walla		•	(916) 263-2187	(916) 263		sarah.wallace@dca.ca.gov
8 150-41	fy that the need - 1-	d	on(s) is a true and corre	of cons	For use by	Office of Administrative Law (OAL) only

I certify that the attached copy of the regulation(s) is a true and correct copy of the regulation(s) identified on this form, that the information specified on this form is true and correct, and that I am the head of the agency taking this action, or a designee of the head of the agency, and am authorized to make this certification.

Karen M. Fischer, MPA, Executive Office

October 10, 2013

For use by Secretary of State only SMBORSED FILED

ENDORSED APPROVED

FEB 192014

Office of Administrative Law

TITLE 16. DENTAL BOARD OF CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS

ORDER OF ADOPTION

Amend Section 1021 of Division 10 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations, to read as follows:

§ 1021. Examination, Permit and License Fees for Dentists.

The following fees are set for dentist examination and licensure by the board:

(a) Initial application for the board clinical and written examination pursuant to Section 1632(c)(1) of the code, initial application for those applicants qualifying pursuant to Section 1632(c)(2) and those applicants qualifying pursuant to Section 1634.1	\$100
(b) Initial application for restorative technique examination	\$250
(c) Applications for reexamination	\$75
(d) Board clinical and written examination or reexamination pursuant to Section 1632(c)(1) of the code	\$450
(e) Restorative technique examination or reexamination	\$250
(f) Fee for application for licensure by credential	\$283
(g) Initial license	\$ 365 450*
(h) Biennial license renewal fee	\$ 365 450-
(i) Biennial license renewal fee for those qualifying pursuant to Section 1716.1 of the code shall be one half of the renewal fee prescribed by subsection (h).	
(j) Delinquency fee - license renewal - The delinquency fee for license renewal shall be the amount prescribed by section 163.5 of the code.	·

Order of Adoption
Amend Cal. Code of Regs., Title 16, § 1021 - Fee Increase
Page 1 of 2

\$50

\$100

\$100

(k) Substitute certificate

(I) Application for an additional office permit

(m) Biennial renewal of additional office permit

(n) Late change of practice registration	\$50
(o) Fictitious name permit The fee prescribed by Section 1724.5 of the Code	
(p) Fictitious name renewal	\$150
(q) Delinquency fee-fictitious name renewal The delinquency fee for fictitious name permits shall be one-half of the fictitious name permit renewal fee.	
(r) Continuing education registered provider fee	\$250
(s) General anesthesia or conscious sedation permit or adult or minor oral conscious sedation certificate	\$200
(t) Oral Conscious Sedation Certificate Renewal	\$75
(u) General anesthesia or conscious sedation permit renewal fee	\$200
(v) General anesthesia or conscious sedation on-site inspection and evaluation fee	\$250

Note: Authority cited: Sections 1614, 1635.5, 1634.2(c), 1724 and 1724.5, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 1632, 1634.1, 1646.6, 1647.8, 1647.12, 1647.15, 1715, 1716.1, 1718.3, 1724 and 1724.5, Business and Professions Code.

^{*}Fee pro-rated based on applicant's birth date.