Welcome to the Dental Board of California

Licensure by Portfolio Examination

Effective November 5, 2014 individuals may qualify for dental licensure on the basis of passing the Portfolio Examination while enrolled in a dental school program at a California Dental Board approved dental school and meeting the following requirements:

  • Be at least 18 years of age.
  • Submit a completed application to the Dental Board of California.
  • Pay a non-refundable application fee of $400.00.
  • Provide satisfactory evidence of having graduated from a Board approved dental school in good academic standing with no pending ethical issues.
  • Provide satisfactory evidence of having passed Parts I and II of the National Board Written Examinations. Original score card is required; photocopies are not acceptable.
  • Submit a completed Portfolio to the Board within 90 days of graduation.
  • Submit a completed Out of State/Country Licensure Certification Form (only for those who are licensed in another state or country).
  • Successfully complete the Law and Ethics examination.
  • Completion of fingerprinting requirements pursuant to Section 1629(b) of the Business and Professions Code.

Additional requirements for issuance of a California dental license are:

  • Completion of the Application for Issuance of License and Registration of Place of Practice (will be mailed to the applicant upon completion of all other licensure requirements) and,
  • Submission of applicable pro-rated licensing fee.

Forms and Publications

Application for Determination of Licensure Eligibility (Portfolio)

Request for Portfolio Candidate Identification Number and Law and Ethics Examination Eligibility

Portfolio Examination Candidate Handbook 2014/2015

Portfolio Examination Information Packet

Portfolio Historical Information

For more information, call (916)-263-2300 or email DentalBoard@dca.ca.gov.