Welcome to the Dental Board of California

Notice of New Application Fee for Dentistry Law & Ethics Written Examination

The Dental Board of California (Board) has increased its application and licensure fees in accordance with California Code of Regulations, Title 16, Section 1021 and 1022. These fee increases are a result of a rulemaking action that was approved by the Office of Administrative Law and filed with the Secretary of State on August 24, 2017.

Beginning this year, the Board will begin collecting an application fee for the Dentistry Law and Ethics Examination Application in the amount of $125. The Dentistry Law and Ethics Examination is required for dental licensure via the Portfolio, WREB, and Licensure by Residency pathways and for special permits. Applicants who submit a complete Dentistry Law and Ethics Examination Application, with the required fee, will be issued eligibility to register for the written examination with PSI. Applicants are responsible for paying the examination fee directly to PSI when scheduling their examination.

As a courtesy, the Board will waive the application fee for the Dentistry Law and Ethics Examination Application for all applications received by the Board on or before February 28, 2018. Any applications for the Dentistry Law and Ethics Examination Application received on or after March 1, 2018 without the required $125 fee will be deemed deficient and the applicant will be notified to submit the required application fee.